"Hayk's Arrow" Armenian Strategic Center

Source records

Armenia’s defence resources and development, organised into five areas. Open a subject to inspect short, dated records, implementation stages and original sources.

Last updated
Filters

Showing 20 of 39 records

Source checked on this dateDefence spending

2026 defence allocation: $1.52 Bn

ApprovedOfficial report

The final Citizen Budget allocates about $1.52 Bn to the functional Defence category for 2026. USD conversion uses the provisional 2026 YTD average.

Details and sources

The date is the verification date, not an adoption or publication date. The final 2026 Citizen Budget is linked separately from its preliminary version by the Finance Ministry and accompanies the approved budget collection. Slide 19 gives the planned 2026 allocation; it is not actual expenditure. The earlier draft value 567.5 billion is not substituted for this final figure. Official reporting has not been independently corroborated.

Original-source amount: The final Citizen Budget gives AMD 566.3 billion for the functional Defence category.

US$1,525.1 million. Original-source amount: 566,300.0 AMD million. Year-to-date average · provisional (2026-01-01–2026-09-30): 371.32 AMD / USD.

Forces & reform

Military medical English workshop completed

Completion reportedOfficial report

NATO DEEP reports a 21–25 September workshop at Yerevan’s Military Medical Faculty.

Details and sources

The activity supported MED CAMEL teaching and programme development; it does not establish deployment of a finished training system.

· Published

Forces & reform

Personnel administration system introduced

ReportedOfficial report

MoD reported introducing an automated personnel records system during the 2026 summer conscription.

Details and sources

The minister was shown the system on 29 June. The report describes intended administration functions, not an audit of nationwide coverage.

Defence partnerships

Eagle Partner expands to four countries

ReportedOfficial report

MoD reported the opening of peacekeeping exercises involving Armenian, US, French and Greek personnel.

Details and sources

Date is the 17 June opening ceremony. The record establishes reported participation; it does not treat the exercise’s readiness goals as achieved outcomes.

Defence industry

Three-year domestic contracting system reported

ReportedOfficial report

The minister reported three-year contracts and state orders indicatively equivalent to about $463.21 Mn; the spending period was not disclosed. USD conversion uses the provisional 2026 YTD average.

Details and sources

Statement at RISE on 3 June, published 4 June; no itemised delivery totals or spending period disclosed.

Original-source amount: The minister reported three-year contracts and roughly AMD 172 billion in sector state orders.

US$463.2 million. Original-source amount: 172,000.0 AMD million. Year-to-date average · provisional (2026-01-01–2026-09-30): 371.32 AMD / USD. This is an indicative report-year conversion of the stated order value, not annual expenditure or confirmed deliveries.

· Published

Defence partnerships

Cyprus and trilateral cooperation programmes signed

SignedOfficial report

Armenia reports annual bilateral and Greece–Cyprus trilateral defence programmes signed in Cyprus.

Details and sources

Consultations took place on 22 April; the ministry published its report the following day. Implementation is separate from signature.

· Published

Defence partnerships

EU approved a further amount equivalent to about $23.13 Mn

ApprovedOfficial report

The second measure supports logistics, including a deployable tent camp. Approved assistance since 2024 is equivalent to about $33.96 Mn. USD conversion uses the provisional 2026 YTD average.

Details and sources

Council decision dated 29 January 2026. The €30 million figure is cumulative approved assistance, not a delivery or annual-spending total.

Original-source amount: A second European Peace Facility measure supports logistics, including a deployable tent camp; authorised assistance totals €30 million since 2024.

US$10.8 million. Original-source amount: 10.0 EUR million. Annual average (2024-01-01–2024-12-31): 1.08238 USD / EUR. US$23.1 million. Original-source amount: 20.0 EUR million. Year-to-date average · provisional (2026-01-02–2026-10-30): 1.156824 USD / EUR. The cumulative USD equivalent adds the two tranches converted separately using their respective approval-year rates; it is not annual spending or completed delivery.

Fiscal year endDefence spending

2025: reported defence expenditure

Reported executionOfficial report

The Finance Ministry reports about $1.75 Bn in the functional Defence category for 2025.

Details and sources

Official execution report, page 31. The date is the end of the fiscal period, not the publication date; the undated file was checked on 31 October 2026. Rounded to AMD 0.1 billion, then expressed as AMD million in the table. This is the functional Defence category, not the Ministry of Defence administrative total or defence plus national security. Official reporting has not been independently corroborated.

Original-source amount: The Finance Ministry reports AMD 678.8 billion in the functional Defence category.

US$1,754.0 million. Original-source amount: 678,800.0 AMD million. Annual average (2025-01-01–2025-12-31): 387.01 AMD / USD.

Defence partnerships

Eagle Partner 2025 concluded

Completion reportedOfficial report

MoD reported the closing ceremony of the Armenian–US exercise preparing personnel for international peacekeeping missions.

Details and sources

Closing ceremony and publication both date to 20 August. Participation and completion do not quantify broader readiness.

Forces & reform

Military education assessment recommendations presented

ReportedOfficial report

NATO DEEP experts presented an assessment of Armenian military education and discussed institutional reform priorities.

Details and sources

Meetings took place on 9–10 June; NATO reported them on 21 June. Recommendations and ongoing support are distinguished from completed reform.

· Published

Defence industry

Eleven Armenian companies at IDEX

Publicly displayedOfficial report

The ministry reported 11 military-industry companies in the joint Armenia pavilion.

Details and sources

Products and projects were exhibited; exhibition participation does not establish sales or adoption.

Defence partnerships

Estonian defence cooperation initiated

AnnouncedOfficial report

Ministers agreed to begin defence cooperation and identified cybersecurity as a promising field.

Details and sources

The MoD records the agreement on 15 February. It does not document a deployed cyber capability or a completed assistance programme.

Defence partnerships

US strategic partnership charter signed

SignedOfficial report

The charter envisages expanded defence cooperation, bilateral consultations and professional military training assistance.

Details and sources

Signed in Washington on 14 January. Its stated cooperation intentions are not a collective-defence guarantee or proof that planned programmes occurred.

Defence industry

2024 military R&D expenditure reported

ReportedOfficial report

The minister reported preliminary military R&D expenditure of about $3.69 Mn for 2024.

Details and sources

Reported on 9 January 2025; preliminary ministerial figure, not audited execution.

Original-source amount: The minister reported preliminary R&D expenditure of about AMD 1.45 billion for 2024.

US$3.7 million. Original-source amount: 1,450.0 AMD million. Annual average (2024-01-01–2024-12-31): 392.73 AMD / USD.

Fiscal year endDefence spending

2024: reported defence expenditure

Reported executionOfficial report

The Finance Ministry reports about $1.39 Bn in the functional Defence category for 2024.

Details and sources

Official execution report, page 31. The date is the end of the fiscal period, not the publication date; the undated file was checked on 31 October 2026. Rounded to AMD 0.1 billion, then expressed as AMD million in the table. This is the functional Defence category, not the Ministry of Defence administrative total or defence plus national security. Official reporting has not been independently corroborated.

Original-source amount: The Finance Ministry reports AMD 549.0 billion in the functional Defence category.

US$1,397.9 million. Original-source amount: 549,000.0 AMD million. Annual average (2024-01-01–2024-12-31): 392.73 AMD / USD.

Defence industry

Domestic UAV manufacturing presented

Publicly displayedOfficial report

The high-tech ministry reported a visit to a UAV manufacturer.

Details and sources

UAVs, components and control systems were presented; company name, output and army deliveries were not disclosed.

Defence partnerships

Eagle Partner 2024 concluded

Completion reportedOfficial report

An official US Army photograph documents the closing ceremony of the Armenian–US peacekeeping exercise.

Details and sources

DVIDS identifies 24 July as the photograph’s event date and 25 July as its posting date. This records the exercise, not readiness.

· Published

Method & coverage

This is a curated public-source reference, not a complete inventory. Each record identifies an event or publication date, implementation stage and evidence type; the detail explains which date is known. An official report establishes what the issuer said; a contract does not establish delivery, and delivery does not establish readiness. Unknown quantities remain unknown. Records count publications or developments, not weapons, personnel or military strength.

Official report
The issuing institution reports the event or figure; this is not independent corroboration.
Independently corroborated
Distinct independent evidence supports the specific recorded claim.
Estimate
A sourced estimate, with its method and limits retained.
Unresolved
The available evidence does not establish the specific point.

SIPRI · Annual spending · SIPRI · Equipment & procurement

← Back to country overview