"Hayk's Arrow" Armenian Strategic Center

Source records

Azerbaijan’s defence resources and development, organised into five areas. Open a subject to inspect short, dated records, implementation stages and original sources.

Last updated
Annual datasets 3
Military & paramilitary personnel · IISS 1992–2020
Coverage and method

Historical active-duty armed-forces and qualifying paramilitary personnel, excluding reservists, from IISS The Military Balance as distributed by the World Bank. The indicator combines regular and paramilitary forces and uses estimates where exact numbers are unavailable. It does not measure readiness, mobilised strength or current force capability.

Historical estimates · latest observation 2020. No later headcount is inferred. Large year-to-year changes are retained as published, without attributing a cause.

People
YearValueStatus and source
202082,000Estimate · World Bank WDI / IISS · MS.MIL.TOTL.P1
201982,000Estimate · World Bank WDI / IISS · MS.MIL.TOTL.P1
201881,950Estimate · World Bank WDI / IISS · MS.MIL.TOTL.P1
201782,000Estimate · World Bank WDI / IISS · MS.MIL.TOTL.P1
201681,950Estimate · World Bank WDI / IISS · MS.MIL.TOTL.P1
201581,950Estimate · World Bank WDI / IISS · MS.MIL.TOTL.P1
201481,950Estimate · World Bank WDI / IISS · MS.MIL.TOTL.P1
201381,950Estimate · World Bank WDI / IISS · MS.MIL.TOTL.P1
201281,950Estimate · World Bank WDI / IISS · MS.MIL.TOTL.P1
201181,950Estimate · World Bank WDI / IISS · MS.MIL.TOTL.P1
201081,940Estimate · World Bank WDI / IISS · MS.MIL.TOTL.P1
200981,940Estimate · World Bank WDI / IISS · MS.MIL.TOTL.P1
200882,000Estimate · World Bank WDI / IISS · MS.MIL.TOTL.P1
200782,000Estimate · World Bank WDI / IISS · MS.MIL.TOTL.P1
200682,000Estimate · World Bank WDI / IISS · MS.MIL.TOTL.P1
200582,000Estimate · World Bank WDI / IISS · MS.MIL.TOTL.P1
200481,000Estimate · World Bank WDI / IISS · MS.MIL.TOTL.P1
200381,500Estimate · World Bank WDI / IISS · MS.MIL.TOTL.P1
200287,100Estimate · World Bank WDI / IISS · MS.MIL.TOTL.P1
200187,100Estimate · World Bank WDI / IISS · MS.MIL.TOTL.P1
200087,100Estimate · World Bank WDI / IISS · MS.MIL.TOTL.P1
199984,900Estimate · World Bank WDI / IISS · MS.MIL.TOTL.P1
199887,150Estimate · World Bank WDI / IISS · MS.MIL.TOTL.P1
1997106,700Estimate · World Bank WDI / IISS · MS.MIL.TOTL.P1
1996110,700Estimate · World Bank WDI / IISS · MS.MIL.TOTL.P1
1995126,700Estimate · World Bank WDI / IISS · MS.MIL.TOTL.P1
199450,000Estimate · World Bank WDI / IISS · MS.MIL.TOTL.P1
199345,000Estimate · World Bank WDI / IISS · MS.MIL.TOTL.P1
199243,000Estimate · World Bank WDI / IISS · MS.MIL.TOTL.P1
Military expenditure · share of GDP 1992–2025
Coverage and method

SIPRI military expenditure divided by GDP for the same calendar year. Percentages are taken from the published Share of GDP sheet; these are resource-burden indicators, not military capability.

SIPRI 2026 edition · definitions and historical coverage follow footnote 7. Open the annual figures for sources.

%
YearValueStatus and source
20256.47%Estimate · SIPRI Military Expenditure Database · 27 April 2026 · Azerbaijan and footnote 7
20245.08%Estimate · SIPRI Military Expenditure Database · 27 April 2026 · Azerbaijan and footnote 7
20234.92%Estimate · SIPRI Military Expenditure Database · 27 April 2026 · Azerbaijan and footnote 7
20223.8%Estimate · SIPRI Military Expenditure Database · 27 April 2026 · Azerbaijan and footnote 7
20214.93%Estimate · SIPRI Military Expenditure Database · 27 April 2026 · Azerbaijan and footnote 7
20205.24%Estimate · SIPRI Military Expenditure Database · 27 April 2026 · Azerbaijan and footnote 7
20193.85%Estimate · SIPRI Military Expenditure Database · 27 April 2026 · Azerbaijan and footnote 7
20183.55%Estimate · SIPRI Military Expenditure Database · 27 April 2026 · Azerbaijan and footnote 7
20173.76%Estimate · SIPRI Military Expenditure Database · 27 April 2026 · Azerbaijan and footnote 7
20163.69%Estimate · SIPRI Military Expenditure Database · 27 April 2026 · Azerbaijan and footnote 7
20155.46%Estimate · SIPRI Military Expenditure Database · 27 April 2026 · Azerbaijan and footnote 7
20144.56%Estimate · SIPRI Military Expenditure Database · 27 April 2026 · Azerbaijan and footnote 7
20134.54%Estimate · SIPRI Military Expenditure Database · 27 April 2026 · Azerbaijan and footnote 7
20124.66%Estimate · SIPRI Military Expenditure Database · 27 April 2026 · Azerbaijan and footnote 7
20114.67%Estimate · SIPRI Military Expenditure Database · 27 April 2026 · Azerbaijan and footnote 7
20102.79%Estimate · SIPRI Military Expenditure Database · 27 April 2026 · Azerbaijan and footnote 7
20093.33%Estimate · SIPRI Military Expenditure Database · 27 April 2026 · Azerbaijan and footnote 7
20083.29%Estimate · SIPRI Military Expenditure Database · 27 April 2026 · Azerbaijan and footnote 7
20072.86%Estimate · SIPRI Military Expenditure Database · 27 April 2026 · Azerbaijan and footnote 7
20063.42%Estimate · SIPRI Military Expenditure Database · 27 April 2026 · Azerbaijan and footnote 7
20052.3%Estimate · SIPRI Military Expenditure Database · 27 April 2026 · Azerbaijan and footnote 7
20042.63%Estimate · SIPRI Military Expenditure Database · 27 April 2026 · Azerbaijan and footnote 7
20032.43%Estimate · SIPRI Military Expenditure Database · 27 April 2026 · Azerbaijan and footnote 7
20022.24%Estimate · SIPRI Military Expenditure Database · 27 April 2026 · Azerbaijan and footnote 7
20012.31%Estimate · SIPRI Military Expenditure Database · 27 April 2026 · Azerbaijan and footnote 7
20002.27%Estimate · SIPRI Military Expenditure Database · 27 April 2026 · Azerbaijan and footnote 7
19992.63%Estimate · SIPRI Military Expenditure Database · 27 April 2026 · Azerbaijan and footnote 7
19982.41%Estimate · SIPRI Military Expenditure Database · 27 April 2026 · Azerbaijan and footnote 7
19972.32%Estimate · SIPRI Military Expenditure Database · 27 April 2026 · Azerbaijan and footnote 7
19962.25%Estimate · SIPRI Military Expenditure Database · 27 April 2026 · Azerbaijan and footnote 7
19952.74%Estimate · SIPRI Military Expenditure Database · 27 April 2026 · Azerbaijan and footnote 7
19941.95%Estimate · SIPRI Military Expenditure Database · 27 April 2026 · Azerbaijan and footnote 7
19935%Estimate · SIPRI Military Expenditure Database · 27 April 2026 · Azerbaijan and footnote 7
19922.4%Estimate · SIPRI Military Expenditure Database · 27 April 2026 · Azerbaijan and footnote 7
Military expenditure · share of government spending 1994–2025
Coverage and method

SIPRI military expenditure as a percentage of general government expenditure, including all government levels where available. This is not the defence share of the central state budget.

SIPRI 2026 edition · definitions and historical coverage follow footnote 7. Open the annual figures for sources.

%
YearValueStatus and source
202517.68%Estimate · SIPRI Military Expenditure Database · 27 April 2026 · Azerbaijan and footnote 7
202414.99%Estimate · SIPRI Military Expenditure Database · 27 April 2026 · Azerbaijan and footnote 7
202315.03%Estimate · SIPRI Military Expenditure Database · 27 April 2026 · Azerbaijan and footnote 7
202214.5%Estimate · SIPRI Military Expenditure Database · 27 April 2026 · Azerbaijan and footnote 7
202115.33%Estimate · SIPRI Military Expenditure Database · 27 April 2026 · Azerbaijan and footnote 7
202013.05%Estimate · SIPRI Military Expenditure Database · 27 April 2026 · Azerbaijan and footnote 7
201911.84%Estimate · SIPRI Military Expenditure Database · 27 April 2026 · Azerbaijan and footnote 7
201810.7%Estimate · SIPRI Military Expenditure Database · 27 April 2026 · Azerbaijan and footnote 7
201710.56%Estimate · SIPRI Military Expenditure Database · 27 April 2026 · Azerbaijan and footnote 7
201610.41%Estimate · SIPRI Military Expenditure Database · 27 April 2026 · Azerbaijan and footnote 7
201514.12%Estimate · SIPRI Military Expenditure Database · 27 April 2026 · Azerbaijan and footnote 7
201412.52%Estimate · SIPRI Military Expenditure Database · 27 April 2026 · Azerbaijan and footnote 7
201312.02%Estimate · SIPRI Military Expenditure Database · 27 April 2026 · Azerbaijan and footnote 7
201212.72%Estimate · SIPRI Military Expenditure Database · 27 April 2026 · Azerbaijan and footnote 7
201113.84%Estimate · SIPRI Military Expenditure Database · 27 April 2026 · Azerbaijan and footnote 7
20108.73%Estimate · SIPRI Military Expenditure Database · 27 April 2026 · Azerbaijan and footnote 7
20099.64%Estimate · SIPRI Military Expenditure Database · 27 April 2026 · Azerbaijan and footnote 7
200810.47%Estimate · SIPRI Military Expenditure Database · 27 April 2026 · Azerbaijan and footnote 7
200710.99%Estimate · SIPRI Military Expenditure Database · 27 April 2026 · Azerbaijan and footnote 7
200613.51%Estimate · SIPRI Military Expenditure Database · 27 April 2026 · Azerbaijan and footnote 7
200510.22%Estimate · SIPRI Military Expenditure Database · 27 April 2026 · Azerbaijan and footnote 7
200410.86%Estimate · SIPRI Military Expenditure Database · 27 April 2026 · Azerbaijan and footnote 7
200311.2%Estimate · SIPRI Military Expenditure Database · 27 April 2026 · Azerbaijan and footnote 7
20029.69%Estimate · SIPRI Military Expenditure Database · 27 April 2026 · Azerbaijan and footnote 7
200113.78%Estimate · SIPRI Military Expenditure Database · 27 April 2026 · Azerbaijan and footnote 7
200012.43%Estimate · SIPRI Military Expenditure Database · 27 April 2026 · Azerbaijan and footnote 7
199913.46%Estimate · SIPRI Military Expenditure Database · 27 April 2026 · Azerbaijan and footnote 7
199813.39%Estimate · SIPRI Military Expenditure Database · 27 April 2026 · Azerbaijan and footnote 7
199711.52%Estimate · SIPRI Military Expenditure Database · 27 April 2026 · Azerbaijan and footnote 7
199611.37%Estimate · SIPRI Military Expenditure Database · 27 April 2026 · Azerbaijan and footnote 7
199514.46%Estimate · SIPRI Military Expenditure Database · 27 April 2026 · Azerbaijan and footnote 7
199413.27%Estimate · SIPRI Military Expenditure Database · 27 April 2026 · Azerbaijan and footnote 7
Filters

Showing 20 of 192 records

158 development records · 34 annual statistical points

Defence spending

2027 budget proposal

ProposedOfficial report

The 2027 draft proposes about $5.18 Bn for defence and national security; this is not enacted or actual spending. USD uses the published budget exchange-rate assumption.

Details and sources

Observed on 31 October 2026: article 7.2 lists AZN 8,816,401,550 and the page is marked draft. This date is the research observation date. The proposal is neither enacted spending authority nor actual expenditure.

Original-source amount: The published 2027 draft proposes AZN 8,816.4 million for the heading.

US$5,186.1 million. Original-source amount: 8,816.4 AZN million. Budget assumption · not an observed annual average (2027-01-01–2027-12-31): 1.7 AZN / USD.

Defence partnerships

NATO Level-2 evaluation completed

Completion reportedOfficial report

The ministry reported completion of an Operational Capabilities Concept Level-2 evaluation for a declared air-force helicopter element.

Details and sources

The report concerns a specific declared element, not the entire air force. It records evaluation completion and favorable assessor comments, but supplies neither a publicly accessible NATO certification document nor an independent whole-force readiness assessment.

Defence partnerships

Falcons Meet-2026 completed

Completion reportedOfficial report

The ministry reported completion of joint air-force training between Azerbaijan and the United Arab Emirates.

Details and sources

The closing account confirms the exercise involved both countries’ air forces and was conducted in Azerbaijan. Claims about improved interoperability and effectiveness remain the ministry’s assessment; the card adds no independent capability estimate.

Forces & reform

NATO capacity workshop and self-evaluation

ReportedOfficial report

Azerbaijan reports a capacity workshop and SEL 1 exercise opening in Baku.

Details and sources

The planned assessment concerned a peacekeeping battalion and military police company. Self-evaluation is distinct from NATO external certification.

Defence partnerships

Naval exercise in Pakistan completed

Completion reportedOfficial report

Azerbaijan reported its naval personnel completed a joint special-operations exercise with Pakistani counterparts under the August working-group protocol.

Details and sources

The report describes certification at the exercise’s conclusion. The card uses the 5 October publication date because the source gives no separate closing date; this is an official training report, not independent performance validation.

Defence partnerships

Power of Unity-2026 completed

Completion reportedOfficial report

The closing report identifies Azerbaijan, Türkiye and Uzbekistan as participants, with nine other countries represented as observers.

Details and sources

The closing ceremony was reported on 1 October. Participation is taken from opening and closing accounts, rather than the larger planning-conference attendance list; official praise is not an independently measured readiness gain.

Defence industry

Local howitzer venture announced

AnnouncedOfficial report

CSG announced a second Azerbaijani joint venture for howitzer production, with projected seven-year business potential indicatively equivalent to about $2.08 Bn. USD conversion uses the provisional 2026 YTD average.

Details and sources

The company targets establishment in December 2026 and production in 2027. Model, volumes and partner are undisclosed; EUR 1.8 billion is projected seven-year business potential, not verified deliveries.

Original-source amount: CSG announced plans for a second Azerbaijani joint venture to localize howitzer production.

US$2,082.3 million. Original-source amount: 1,800.0 EUR million. Year-to-date average · provisional (2026-01-02–2026-10-30): 1.156824 USD / EUR. The USD equivalent uses the announcement-year rate for a company projection spanning seven years. It is not an annual budget, contracted purchase value or verified delivery total.

Defence partnerships

Uzbekistan cooperation plan for 2027 signed

SignedOfficial report

The defence ministries signed a bilateral military cooperation plan for 2027 during meetings in Baku.

Details and sources

The report places signature on 30 September 2026 after discussion of military, educational and technical cooperation. It does not disclose the full plan; future activities are not counted as completed training or delivered equipment.

Defence industry

Preliminary ASELSAN factory agreement

ProposedOfficial report

The ministry listed a preliminary agreement to establish an ASELSAN factory.

Details and sources

The ADEX account gives no construction, output, cost or commissioning date. Preliminary agreement is not an operating factory.

· Published

Defence industry

Radio-frequency systems cooperation memorandum

AnnouncedOfficial report

The ministry reported a Boğaziçi Savunma memorandum on developing radio-frequency systems.

Details and sources

No named finished product, procurement quantity, production line or delivery date is confirmed.

· Published

Contract publicly announced on 30 September; month precision is retained for signing. The undated manufacturer article is not assigned a publication day.Equipment & procurement

Fourteen HÜRKUŞ-II trainers contracted

ContractedOfficial report

Turkish Aerospace confirmed an Azerbaijani contract planning delivery of fourteen HÜRKUŞ-II training aircraft.

Details and sources

The manufacturer identifies the ADEX 2026 contract and fourteen planned aircraft. This establishes an order, not completed deliveries or service entry. No contract price, accepted-aircraft count or independently verified delivery schedule is provided in the retained manufacturer release.

Defence industry

MIRAS agreements with MKE and Otokar

ContractedOfficial report

The ministry listed MIRAS strategic cooperation with MKE and logistics cooperation with Otokar.

Details and sources

Signed cooperation documents are reported. Values, quantities and specific equipment deliveries are not disclosed.

· Published

Defence partnerships

Eternity-2026 final planning concluded

AnnouncedOfficial report

Final planning concluded for the trilateral command-staff exercise, previously scheduled for November 2026.

Details and sources

The July notice schedules the exercise for November 2026. The 27 August notice confirms final planning and a signed protocol. As of 1 November 2026, the retrieved sources establish preparation, not completion of the exercise.

Defence partnerships

Pakistan working-group protocol signed

SignedOfficial report

The twelfth Azerbaijan–Pakistan defence working-group meeting ended with the signing of its protocol in Baku.

Details and sources

The source confirms signature but does not publish the protocol’s text, duration or detailed commitments. An October naval exercise report subsequently cites this protocol; signature is not coded as a delivered programme.

Defence spending

2025 execution reported

Reported executionOfficial report

The execution law reports about $4.74 Bn for defence and national security in 2025.

Details and sources

Article 2.2.2 records AZN 8,067,955,609. Published on 7 July 2026, this is an official functional-heading outturn, not independent verification of every payment or delivery.

Original-source amount: The 2025 execution law reports AZN 8,068.0 million for defence and national security.

US$4,745.9 million. Original-source amount: 8,068.0 AZN million. Annual average (2025-01-01–2025-12-31): 1.7 AZN / USD.

Defence partnerships

Caucasus Eagle-2026 concluded

Completion reportedOfficial report

The ministry reported completion of special-forces training involving Azerbaijan, Georgia and Türkiye in Georgia.

Details and sources

The official closing account links the exercise to the approved cooperation plan and interoperability training. Completion is recorded separately from organisers’ positive assessments; no independently verified readiness outcome is claimed.

Defence partnerships

Anatolian Phoenix-2026 completed

Completion reportedOfficial report

The international search-and-rescue exercise in Türkiye concluded after Azerbaijan’s announced participation with air-force and rescue personnel.

Details and sources

Azerbaijan’s opening notice identifies its participation; its 17 April report records completion. Turkish ministry material also identifies Azerbaijan among participants. These are organiser reports, not independent corroboration of performance claims.

Defence industry

VEXA land-systems venture agreement

ContractedOfficial report

CSG announced an agreement establishing VEXA DS for servicing and modernizing land equipment.

Details and sources

Its company release describes a long-term program and technology transfer. Planned scale is a corporate statement; completed refurbishment volumes and equipment types were not disclosed.

· Published

Forces & reform

Psychological support facilities opened

Completion reportedOfficial report

The ministry reported commissioning premises for the Psychological Support Department and the new Baku Military Psychological Health Center.

Details and sources

The report connects these services to staffing and structural reform and describes counseling, rehabilitation and military-psychologist training. The date marks reported commissioning; the source does not separately date the center’s legal establishment or demonstrate treatment outcomes.

Defence industry

Bayraktar workforce training memorandum

AnnouncedOfficial report

A state vocational center and Bayraktar Teknoloji Azerbaijan signed a training memorandum.

Details and sources

The agency’s 5 March announcement covers workforce needs, training programs and research. It does not establish a completed course, factory or UAV production line.

· Published

Method & coverage

This is a curated public-source reference, not a complete inventory. Each record identifies an event or publication date, implementation stage and evidence type; the detail explains which date is known. An official report establishes what the issuer said; a contract does not establish delivery, and delivery does not establish readiness. Unknown quantities remain unknown. Records count publications or developments, not weapons, personnel or military strength.

Official report
The issuing institution reports the event or figure; this is not independent corroboration.
Independently corroborated
Distinct independent evidence supports the specific recorded claim.
Estimate
A sourced estimate, with its method and limits retained.
Unresolved
The available evidence does not establish the specific point.

SIPRI · Annual spending · SIPRI · Equipment & procurement

← Back to country overview