Follows weapons and equipment from announcements and contracts to reported deliveries and public display. Identifies suppliers, systems, quantities where disclosed and the evidence supporting each stage, without treating an order as a completed delivery.
Last updated
Search text, names, dates or sources.
Filters
Showing 20 of 44 records
Locally produced UAVs and US radars handed over
Delivery reportedOfficial report
Georgia’s defence ministry reported a handover of domestically produced unmanned aircraft and US ground-surveillance radars at Vaziani.
Details and sources
The official account also shows WARMATE and FLYEYE demonstrations. Quantities and a radar model are not established here. A handover and demonstration do not establish full operational readiness or wholly domestic component manufacture.
Reported by May 2022; exact handover dates unavailable
DELTA reconnaissance and communications vehicles handed over
Delivery reportedOfficial report
Georgia’s government reported handover of a new DELTA armoured reconnaissance vehicle and communications vehicles built on a multipurpose platform.
Details and sources
May is the reporting-period cutoff, not an established handover month: the source covers June 2021–May 2022. It does not disclose quantities. Future serial production and exports of the reconnaissance vehicle remained plans.
The US notified Congress of a possible $30 Mn sale of 82 Javelin missiles and 46 command launch units to Georgia.
Details and sources
The Federal Register reproduces the 3 August 2021 notification. This is an estimated sale authorisation, not proof that all listed items were delivered or paid for.
Original-source amount: The US notified Congress of a possible 30 USD million sale of 82 Javelin missiles and 46 command launch units to Georgia.
The source reports current USD; no second currency conversion is applied.
UNROCA reporting year; no transfer month or day is established.
2020: US heavy machine guns reported
ReportedOfficial report
The United States reported exporting 204 heavy machine guns to Georgia.
Details and sources
A government-reported annual transfer, not a current inventory or independent inspection. The report does not establish present serviceability, contract value or a unit-by-unit handover date. The model and final user are unspecified. The row is not relabelled M2HB without a matching source. Small unrelated pistol/rifle rows are omitted here.
2019 planning document; exact decision day is not established.
UH-1H and An-2 modernisation plan
ProposedOfficial report
The ministry planned to modernise seven UH-1H helicopters and renovate four An-2 aircraft.
Details and sources
Minister’s Directives 2019, printed page 36, uses future-tense implementation language and links UH-1H work to US bilateral cooperation. It does not establish completed upgrades, deliveries or seven newly acquired helicopters.
2019 report date; the underlying agreement signing date is not established here.
Second French air-defence phase reported
ReportedOfficial report
The ministry’s 2019 directives reported a signed agreement continuing French air-defence acquisition.
Details and sources
The document says Georgia had entered a second cooperation phase with France. It does not give the agreement’s signing day, quantities, exact systems, price or delivery date. The separate plan to procure MANPADS is future-tense and is not evidence of delivery. The date here identifies the reporting document, not a newly verified 2019 contract signature.
UNROCA reporting year; no transfer month or day is established.
2019: Support weapons reported
ReportedOfficial report
The United States reported exporting 800 light machine guns and 100 grenade launchers to Georgia.
Details and sources
A government-reported annual transfer, not a current inventory or independent inspection. The report does not establish present serviceability, contract value or a unit-by-unit handover date. Models and final users are not named; the record does not equate these rows with a particular M249 or other announced procurement.
Dioskuria and Ochamchire were handed over at Georgia’s Coast Guard base in Poti.
Details and sources
The Georgian regional-government report documents a ceremony attended by the prime minister, interior minister and US representatives. These are the two former US Island-class cutters legally transferred in Maryland in 2016, not a new additional pair. The ceremony establishes handover at Poti, not the exact first arrival date or unrestricted operational readiness.
The US State Department identifies January 2018 as the date of Georgia’s Javelin anti-tank system purchase.
Details and sources
The 2020 retrospective establishes a purchase after the 2017 notification. It does not provide a delivery schedule or final number of missiles; the authorised ceiling is not substituted for an actual delivery count.
UNROCA reporting year; no transfer month or day is established.
2018: US rifles and anti-tank launchers reported
ReportedOfficial report
The United States reported 6,040 rifles/carbines, six light machine guns and 72 portable anti-tank launchers/rocket systems exported to Georgia.
Details and sources
A government-reported annual transfer, not a current inventory or independent inspection. The report does not establish present serviceability, contract value or a unit-by-unit handover date. No model or missile-round quantity is given. The 72-unit category must not automatically be equated to Javelin CLUs or added to the 2017 authorisation and January 2018 purchase as a separate programme. This is transfer reporting, not approval.
The US notified Congress of a possible sale to Georgia of 410 Javelin missiles, 72 command launch units and associated equipment.
Details and sources
DSCA’s 20 November release says Congress was notified on 17 November. The package included two spare launch units. Authorisation is not a delivery receipt or confirmation of the final contracted quantity.
UNROCA reporting year; no transfer month or day is established.
2017: US light machine guns reported
ReportedOfficial report
The United States reported exporting 400 light machine guns to Georgia.
Details and sources
A government-reported annual transfer, not a current inventory or independent inspection. The report does not establish present serviceability, contract value or a unit-by-unit handover date. The return does not name the model or final user. It is not labelled M249 or assigned to a particular force without matching end-user documentation.
Event dated 30 September 2016; Coast Guard release published 3 October 2016.
Island cutters legally transferred
ReportedOfficial report
The US Coast Guard transferred former Jefferson Island and Staten Island to Georgia at its Maryland yard.
Details and sources
This was the US-side legal transfer ceremony, not their physical arrival in Georgia. The contemporary Coast Guard release still scheduled maintenance, upgrades, outfitting, crew training and later shipping. The separate 2018 Georgian handover event must not be counted as two additional vessels. The stated $5.3 million covers equipment/technical/training services, not a verified price for the hulls.
UNROCA reporting year; no transfer month or day is established.
2013: T-72 tanks for refurbishment reported
ReportedOfficial report
Bulgaria reported five T-72 tanks exported to Georgia for refurbishment and further use.
Details and sources
A government-reported annual transfer, not a current inventory or independent inspection. The report does not establish present serviceability, contract value or a unit-by-unit handover date. The report does not establish whether later use was by Georgia, a subsequent customer or another owner. It is not treated as five confirmed additions to Georgia’s operational tank force.
UNROCA reporting year; no transfer month or day is established.
2012: Su-25 repair stock and infantry weapons reported
ReportedOfficial report
Bulgaria reported 10 expired-life Su-25 aircraft for repair stock, 40,000 assault rifles and 10,000 disposable grenade launchers sent to Georgia.
Details and sources
A government-reported annual transfer, not a current inventory or independent inspection. The report does not establish present serviceability, contract value or a unit-by-unit handover date. The aircraft row explicitly says expired lifespan, for repair stock. It is not evidence of ten aircraft entering Georgian operational service. Rifle models, final military end-user and the grenade-launcher model are not specified.
UNROCA reporting year; no transfer month or day is established.
2011: Bulgarian artillery and infantry weapons reported
ReportedOfficial report
Bulgaria reported 20 122-mm howitzers, 15,000 assault rifles, 450 light machine guns and 6,000 RPG-22 disposable launchers exported to Georgia.
Details and sources
A government-reported annual transfer, not a current inventory or independent inspection. The report does not establish present serviceability, contract value or a unit-by-unit handover date.
UNROCA reporting year; no transfer month or day is established.
2009: Artillery from Bulgaria reported
ReportedOfficial report
Bulgaria reported exporting 12 RM-70 rocket launchers and 12 152-mm howitzers to Georgia.
Details and sources
A government-reported annual transfer, not a current inventory or independent inspection. The report does not establish present serviceability, contract value or a unit-by-unit handover date. The supplier records Czechia as country of origin. The howitzer model is unnamed and is not assumed to be DANA.
UNROCA reporting year; no transfer month or day is established.
2009: BTR-70 armoured vehicles reported
ReportedOfficial report
Ukraine reported exporting five BTR-70 armoured personnel carriers to Georgia.
Details and sources
A government-reported annual transfer, not a current inventory or independent inspection. The report does not establish present serviceability, contract value or a unit-by-unit handover date.
UNROCA reporting year; no transfer month or day is established.
2008: Support weapons reported
ReportedOfficial report
Bulgaria reported 100 heavy machine guns, 7,652 grenade launchers and 24 portable anti-tank guns exported to Georgia.
Details and sources
A government-reported annual transfer, not a current inventory or independent inspection. The report does not establish present serviceability, contract value or a unit-by-unit handover date. The return does not name these weapon models or a receiving unit. The grenade-launcher number is the reported category count, not an established number of reusable launch systems. Annual precision cannot locate transfers relative to the August war.
UNROCA reporting year; no transfer month or day is established.
2008: Turkish armoured vehicles reported
ReportedOfficial report
Türkiye reported exporting 29 wheeled armoured personnel carriers to Georgia.
Details and sources
A government-reported annual transfer, not a current inventory or independent inspection. The report does not establish present serviceability, contract value or a unit-by-unit handover date. The return supplies no model. These units are not assigned to Cobra, Ejder or another model from unrelated inventory lists.
Dated developments extend from 1991 to 2026. National ministry-budget observations cover 2004–2026; the separate SIPRI series covers 1996–2025. Additional charts retain historical personnel estimates, legal post ceilings and spending shares. Government transfer returns describe annual reports, not unique shipments or current inventories; conflicting quantities and timing remain in the source details. Procurement approvals, plans, reported production and deliveries remain distinct. This is a selected reference, not a complete inventory or readiness assessment.
Method & coverage
This is a curated public-source reference, not a complete inventory. Each record identifies an event or publication date, implementation stage and evidence type; the detail explains which date is known. An official report establishes what the issuer said; a contract does not establish delivery, and delivery does not establish readiness. Unknown quantities remain unknown. Records count publications or developments, not weapons, personnel or military strength.
Official report
The issuing institution reports the event or figure; this is not independent corroboration.
Independently corroborated
Distinct independent evidence supports the specific recorded claim.
Estimate
A sourced estimate, with its method and limits retained.
Unresolved
The available evidence does not establish the specific point.