"Hayk's Arrow" Armenian Strategic Center

Forces & reform

Examines military institutions, force organisation, service arrangements and reform programmes. Records changes in training, military education and command structures, distinguishing announced reforms from documented implementation.

Last updated
Annual datasets 1
Military & paramilitary personnel · IISS 1992–2020
Coverage and method

Historical active-duty armed-forces and qualifying paramilitary personnel, excluding reservists, from IISS The Military Balance as distributed by the World Bank. The indicator combines regular and paramilitary forces and uses estimates where exact numbers are unavailable. It does not measure readiness, mobilised strength or current force capability.

Historical estimates · latest observation 2020. Regular military and qualifying paramilitary personnel are combined; reserves are excluded. No later headcount or explanation of annual changes is inferred.

People
YearValueStatus and source
202021,000Estimate · World Bank WDI / IISS · MS.MIL.TOTL.P1
201921,000Estimate · World Bank WDI / IISS · MS.MIL.TOTL.P1
201820,900Estimate · World Bank WDI / IISS · MS.MIL.TOTL.P1
201721,000Estimate · World Bank WDI / IISS · MS.MIL.TOTL.P1
201620,400Estimate · World Bank WDI / IISS · MS.MIL.TOTL.P1
201520,400Estimate · World Bank WDI / IISS · MS.MIL.TOTL.P1
201420,400Estimate · World Bank WDI / IISS · MS.MIL.TOTL.P1
201320,400Estimate · World Bank WDI / IISS · MS.MIL.TOTL.P1
201220,400Estimate · World Bank WDI / IISS · MS.MIL.TOTL.P1
201120,400Estimate · World Bank WDI / IISS · MS.MIL.TOTL.P1
201020,400Estimate · World Bank WDI / IISS · MS.MIL.TOTL.P1
200920,400Estimate · World Bank WDI / IISS · MS.MIL.TOTL.P1
200821,000Estimate · World Bank WDI / IISS · MS.MIL.TOTL.P1
200721,000Estimate · World Bank WDI / IISS · MS.MIL.TOTL.P1
200621,000Estimate · World Bank WDI / IISS · MS.MIL.TOTL.P1
200518,000Estimate · World Bank WDI / IISS · MS.MIL.TOTL.P1
200417,000Estimate · World Bank WDI / IISS · MS.MIL.TOTL.P1
200315,900Estimate · World Bank WDI / IISS · MS.MIL.TOTL.P1
200215,900Estimate · World Bank WDI / IISS · MS.MIL.TOTL.P1
200114,000Estimate · World Bank WDI / IISS · MS.MIL.TOTL.P1
200014,000Estimate · World Bank WDI / IISS · MS.MIL.TOTL.P1
199912,200Estimate · World Bank WDI / IISS · MS.MIL.TOTL.P1
199814,200Estimate · World Bank WDI / IISS · MS.MIL.TOTL.P1
199714,200Estimate · World Bank WDI / IISS · MS.MIL.TOTL.P1
199612,000Estimate · World Bank WDI / IISS · MS.MIL.TOTL.P1
19957,000Estimate · World Bank WDI / IISS · MS.MIL.TOTL.P1
199413,000Estimate · World Bank WDI / IISS · MS.MIL.TOTL.P1
199312,000Estimate · World Bank WDI / IISS · MS.MIL.TOTL.P1
199212,000Estimate · World Bank WDI / IISS · MS.MIL.TOTL.P1
Filters

Showing 20 of 42 records

Five border personnel complete EOD Level 3

Completion reportedOfficial report

OSCE reports five Kyrgyz border-service members completed explosive-ordnance disposal training in Tajikistan.

Details and sources

The course ran from 6 to 24 July; certificates were awarded on 24 July. The report was published on 29 July.

· Published

Regional ammunition-safety training completed

Completion reportedOfficial report

OSCE reports military officers from four countries completed propellant-stability training in Bishkek.

Details and sources

The 14–23 April course had nine participants in total, from Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Turkmenistan and Tajikistan; no country-level headcount is given.

· Published

Regional ammunition-stockpile course completed

Completion reportedOfficial report

A regional course in Kyrgyzstan covered ammunition security and stockpile management, with 19 participants from Central Asia.

Details and sources

The OSCE and Kyrgyz Defence Ministry organized the 4–9 August course with GICHD ammunition-advisory expertise. The reported 19 participants are the regional course total, not the Kyrgyz contingent alone.

· Published

Eighteen specialists complete ammunition training

Completion reportedOfficial report

Eighteen Kyrgyz Defence Ministry specialists completed a 1–11 April course on ammunition storage, surveillance and transport with Bundeswehr experts.

Details and sources

OSCE also reports 65 personnel trained across 2023–2025. That cumulative figure is not an additional 2025 cohort and is not added to the 18.

· Published

Eight defence specialists complete propellant course

Completion reportedOfficial report

Eight Kyrgyz Defence Ministry technical specialists completed a 3–14 March course on ammunition propellant stability, supported by Austria and the OSCE.

Details and sources

The reported number concerns the identified course cohort. It is not armed-forces strength or an annual count of unique people trained; repeat attendance across courses remains possible.

Regional ammunition-safety seminar

Completion reportedOfficial report

Kyrgyz defence specialists joined a regional seminar on ammunition propellant stability and safe storage.

Details and sources

The OSCE, Kyrgyz Defence Ministry and Austrian Defence Ministry organized the event with participants from four Central Asian states. The event date is 12 March; the OSCE release followed on 17 March.

· Published

Second border-arms training module completed

Completion reportedOfficial report

Border Service officers completed a second OSCE module on identifying, tracing and documenting illicit small arms and ammunition.

Details and sources

Training took place on 18–21 November. It is counted separately from the February–March module because it was a distinct completed course. No new equipment delivery is inferred.

Mobilization-reserve training rules adopted

AdoptedOfficial report

Cabinet decision No.510 approved rules governing call-up and training for the mobilization reserve.

Details and sources

The legal record establishes adoption of the rules; it does not disclose the number subsequently trained or their readiness.

Aviation and military institutes sign memorandum

SignedOfficial report

Kyrgyz Aviation Institute reported signing a cooperation memorandum with the Armed Forces Military Institute at the Defence Ministry.

Details and sources

The source documents the stated activity. Permanent deployment, an additional equipment delivery and independently measured readiness are not inferred.

Border officers complete arms-trafficking training

Completion reportedOfficial report

The OSCE trained Kyrgyz Border Service officers in identifying and countering illicit weapons, ammunition and explosives trafficking.

Details and sources

The course ran from 26 February to 1 March in Osh. The OSCE report was published on 4 March. This is completed training, not a measured reduction in trafficking.

· Published

Two ammunition-training classrooms opened

Completion reportedOfficial report

The OSCE and Defence Ministry inaugurated two modernized classrooms in Osh for ammunition storage and transport training.

Details and sources

The release describes two-week German-led courses benefiting 40 specialists, but does not establish that all 40 completed training on the opening day.

· Published

Military Doctrine approved

AdoptedOfficial report

Presidential decree No. 170 approved a new Military Doctrine.

Details and sources

The official legal database records the adoption on 6 July 2023. The entry establishes the doctrine’s legal adoption, not the completion of force reforms or procurement mentioned in wider policy discussions.

Explosive-hazard course completed

Completion reportedOfficial report

Kyrgyz specialists joined colleagues from four Central Asian countries in completing a five-day OSCE explosive-hazard awareness course.

Details and sources

The 20 participants were the regional total. The course finished in Tashkent on 19 May; the OSCE report was issued on 24 May.

· Published

Publication date; ceremony day not separately stated

Kyrgyz AKINCI crews graduate

Completion reportedOfficial report

Baykar reported the graduation of AKINCI personnel from Türkiye, Azerbaijan and Kyrgyzstan.

Details and sources

The 96 graduates are the combined three-country total. Training covered several crew and maintenance roles; no Kyrgyz aircraft delivery quantity is given.

National Security Concept adopted

AdoptedOfficial report

Presidential decree No. 570 approved the National Security Concept of the Kyrgyz Republic.

Details and sources

The Ministry of Justice legal database identifies the instrument and its adoption date. This is a policy-framework record, not evidence that every proposed measure was implemented.

Defence ministry regulation adopted

AdoptedOfficial report

The official register identifies government decision No.84 of 9 March 2021 on Defence Ministry matters.

Details and sources

The date identifies the legal act. A later consolidated edition is not evidence that every current provision existed at adoption; entry into force and implementation are not inferred.

Defence ministry reorganisation ordered

AdoptedOfficial report

Government decision No.38 formed the Defence Ministry from the State Committee for Defence Affairs and the General Staff, implementing presidential decree No.6 of 1 February.

Details and sources

The government text says the decision enters into force on signature. Its 5 March amended version is preserved; unrelated later amendments are not backdated to February.

Defence minister appointed

AdoptedOfficial report

Taalaibek Omuraliev was appointed defence minister by presidential decree.

Details and sources

The appointment is an institutional leadership record. It does not by itself establish a completed reorganization, force expansion or equipment delivery. The historical source URL currently returns an empty page. Its original date and source are retained from the earlier verified record; the article body was not recovered in this review.

Presidency report date; individual induction dates are not established

Spring conscription resumption ordered

AdoptedOfficial report

A presidential decree resumed spring conscription and the transfer of eligible servicemen to the reserve.

Details and sources

The decree concerns military and alternative service. It records a conscription decision, not an independently measured change in force strength. No troop total is inferred. The official indexed announcement confirms the resumption decree on 11 May 2020. The current page is empty; its replacement 2026 shell date is not used. Entry into force depended on official publication, whose separate date is not established here.

Scope

Source review through 1 November 2026. Historical national defence accounts cover 1994–2003 and remain separate from SIPRI’s broader estimates through 2025. No defence-only current budget is inferred from combined security totals. Personnel estimates stop in 2020. Programme accounts use U.S. fiscal years; Dastan employment covers the whole issuer. Announcements, declared transfers, handovers and public displays remain distinct.

Method & coverage

This is a curated public-source reference, not a complete inventory. Each record identifies an event or publication date, implementation stage and evidence type; the detail explains which date is known. An official report establishes what the issuer said; a contract does not establish delivery, and delivery does not establish readiness. Unknown quantities remain unknown. Records count publications or developments, not weapons, personnel or military strength.

Official report
The issuing institution reports the event or figure; this is not independent corroboration.
Independently corroborated
Distinct independent evidence supports the specific recorded claim.
Estimate
A sourced estimate, with its method and limits retained.
Unresolved
The available evidence does not establish the specific point.

SIPRI · Annual spending · SIPRI · Equipment & procurement

← Back to country overview