"Hayk's Arrow" Armenian Strategic Center

Equipment & procurement

Follows weapons and equipment from announcements and contracts to reported deliveries and public display. Identifies suppliers, systems, quantities where disclosed and the evidence supporting each stage, without treating an order as a completed delivery.

Last updated
Filters

Showing 20 of 52 records

Contract publicly announced on 30 September; month precision is retained for signing. The undated manufacturer article is not assigned a publication day.

Fourteen HÜRKUŞ-II trainers contracted

ContractedOfficial report

Turkish Aerospace confirmed an Azerbaijani contract planning delivery of fourteen HÜRKUŞ-II training aircraft.

Details and sources

The manufacturer identifies the ADEX 2026 contract and fourteen planned aircraft. This establishes an order, not completed deliveries or service entry. No contract price, accepted-aircraft count or independently verified delivery schedule is provided in the retained manufacturer release.

The official magazine dates the agreement to the February Riyadh exhibition; no signing day is inferred.

SAM120 procurement framework reported

AnnouncedOfficial report

Slovakia’s Defence Ministry magazine reported a SAM120 framework with Iglin and an initial 96-system phase.

Details and sources

The March issue describes a February framework envisaging about 300 systems, with 96 in the first phase. Framework, initial order and delivery are separate stages. This record retains the framework announcement and does not claim that 96 or 300 mortars were delivered, accepted or operational.

· Published

HQ-9 adoption officially disclosed

Service acceptance reportedOfficial report

The presidency explicitly described HQ-9 as newly accepted into armament.

Details and sources

The official text says HQ-9. It does not specify the BE variant, battery count, cost or readiness.

NORA and DITA adoption disclosed

Service acceptance reportedOfficial report

The presidency called NORA and DITA 155 mm howitzers newly accepted into armament.

Details and sources

The statement establishes official acceptance claims. Quantities, precise variants and contract prices remain unspecified.

JF-17C adoption officially confirmed

Service acceptance reportedOfficial report

The presidency stated that JF-17C Block III fighters had entered the Air Force arsenal.

Details and sources

This is an explicit official adoption claim, not an inference from photographs. The source gives no total order quantity, price or final delivery timetable.

C-27J publicly presented

Publicly displayedOfficial report

A C-27J Spartan was presented to Azerbaijan’s president.

Details and sources

The presidency described planned transport and medical uses. Presentation alone does not establish fleet size, contract completion or operational readiness.

Akıncı receipt officially confirmed

Delivery reportedOfficial report

The presidency described the Akıncı combat UAV as newly received.

Details and sources

The official visit report confirms receipt and presentation. It provides no fleet quantity, price or complete delivery schedule, and does not establish readiness.

Su-25 modernization agreement

ContractedOfficial report

The Defence Ministry announced a Su-25 modernization contract with Turkish Aerospace.

Details and sources

The stated scope covers avionics and integration of Turkish weapons. Aircraft numbers, price and completion dates were not disclosed; this record confirms contracting only.

C-27J purchase contract

ContractedOfficial report

Leonardo announced a C-27J contract; its 2023 annual report identifies two aircraft in the order.

Details and sources

The 8 June release confirms the supply contract; the 2023 annual report, page 58, identifies two C-27J aircraft under new orders. This is an order quantity, not two completed deliveries. Exact signing day, price, final delivery schedule and readiness remain unestablished.

· Published

The corporate timeline gives only 2020; publication date is not stated.

Manufacturer dates TB2 exports to 2020

ReportedOfficial report

Bayraktar’s corporate history dates Bayraktar TB2 exports to Azerbaijan to 2020.

Details and sources

This is a retrospective first-party year-level statement. It predates the 2025 parade baseline but supplies no signing day, exact arrival dates, quantity or contract value. The entry does not establish present inventory, serviceability or readiness.

Super Mushshak training use documented

Publicly displayedOfficial report

The Defence Ministry recorded young pilots conducting practical flights on Super Mushshak aircraft.

Details and sources

The source establishes training use by this date, alongside L-39 aircraft and Mi-series helicopters. It does not establish the purchase date, full delivered quantity or today’s fleet readiness. Earlier secondary delivery reports are not substituted for a dated primary handover record.

Further Polonez batch reported delivered

Delivery reportedOfficial report

The Defence Ministry reported another Polonez batch from Belarus under the intergovernmental agreement.

Details and sources

The release does not disclose a number. Belarus’s annual UNROCA V-300 BM return may cover these systems; no quantities are added across those sources. This is a delivery confirmation, not a fleet size or readiness assessment.

Polonez service entry announced

Service acceptance reportedOfficial report

The Defence Ministry explicitly stated that Belarus-supplied Polonez systems had entered army service.

Details and sources

This adds an explicit official acceptance statement to the 11 June presentation record. It does not establish the exact internal acceptance date, total order, price or present readiness. It must not be counted as another shipment.

LORA and Polonez public presentation

Publicly displayedOfficial report

The presidency documented the presentation of LORA and Polonez missile systems.

Details and sources

Historical baseline only. The ceremony report does not establish purchase quantities, contract terms or present readiness.

Russian equipment batch delivered

Delivery reportedOfficial report

The Defence Ministry reported a further shipment of Russian-made equipment arriving in Baku.

Details and sources

The text identifies no model names or quantities. No identification is inferred from photographs, and this batch is not added to annual transfer quantities because the records may overlap. The delivery report does not establish present serviceability.

UNROCA reporting year; the source does not establish the month or day of transfer.

2018: Belarus reports equipment exports

ReportedOfficial report

Belarus reported exports to Azerbaijan in UNROCA: V-300 BM multiple-launch rocket systems: 6.

Details and sources

This is a government-reported annual transfer, not a current inventory or independent inspection. Exact handover dates, contract values and present serviceability are not established.

UNROCA reporting year; the source does not establish the month or day of transfer.

2018: Russia reports equipment exports

ReportedOfficial report

Russia reported exports to Azerbaijan in UNROCA: armoured combat vehicles: 40.

Details and sources

This is a government-reported annual transfer, not a current inventory or independent inspection. Exact handover dates, contract values and present serviceability are not established.

Tufan vessel construction completed

Completion reportedOfficial report

The presidency documented completion of a Tufan-type border vessel and the laying of another vessel’s foundation.

Details and sources

The Azerbaijani and Russian accounts distinguish the completed ship from special equipment put into service during the visit. The English abridgement is not used to infer ship commissioning. Total fleet size, foreign supplier, procurement cost and present readiness are not established.

UNROCA reporting year; the source does not establish the month or day of transfer.

2017: Belarus reports equipment exports

ReportedOfficial report

Belarus reported exports to Azerbaijan in UNROCA: 2A36 artillery systems: 26.

Details and sources

This is a government-reported annual transfer, not a current inventory or independent inspection. Exact handover dates, contract values and present serviceability are not established.

Method & coverage

This is a curated public-source reference, not a complete inventory. Each record identifies an event or publication date, implementation stage and evidence type; the detail explains which date is known. An official report establishes what the issuer said; a contract does not establish delivery, and delivery does not establish readiness. Unknown quantities remain unknown. Records count publications or developments, not weapons, personnel or military strength.

Official report
The issuing institution reports the event or figure; this is not independent corroboration.
Independently corroborated
Distinct independent evidence supports the specific recorded claim.
Estimate
A sourced estimate, with its method and limits retained.
Unresolved
The available evidence does not establish the specific point.

SIPRI · Annual spending · SIPRI · Equipment & procurement

← Back to country overview