"Hayk's Arrow" Armenian Strategic Center

Equipment & procurement

Follows weapons and equipment from announcements and contracts to reported deliveries and public display. Identifies suppliers, systems, quantities where disclosed and the evidence supporting each stage, without treating an order as a completed delivery.

Last updated
Filters

Showing 20 of 47 records

UNROCA calendar reporting year; month and day are not established

Spain declares four aircraft exports

ReportedOfficial report

Spain reported four items for Kazakhstan in its combat-aircraft category, without identifying models.

Details and sources

The description and comments are blank. This declaration is not assigned to C295 or A400M and is not treated as delivery of four fighters. Possible overlap with already documented aircraft programmes remains unresolved. These are declared annual transfers, not current stocks or evidence of operational readiness.

2024 equipment acquisition review

ReportedOfficial report

MoD reported acquiring 53 Arlan and 45 COBRA II vehicles, alongside an A400M and the Shapshan landing craft.

Details and sources

The annual account reports more than 100 newly acquired units and 85 overhauled or modernised units. The A400M overlaps its separate delivery record and must not be added twice.

Manufacturer announcement date

First A400M delivery announced

Delivery reportedOfficial report

Airbus announced delivery of the first of Kazakhstan’s two ordered A400M aircraft.

Details and sources

The manufacturer’s release is dated 10 December. It schedules the second aircraft for 2026; that schedule is not treated as a completed second delivery.

Year covered by the review; acceptance day undisclosed

ANKA service acceptance reported

Service acceptance reportedOfficial report

The ministry’s 2024 review reports completion of ANKA trials and acceptance into service.

Details and sources

The review does not give an acceptance day or quantity.

· Published

UNROCA calendar reporting year; month and day are not established

Türkiye declares 68 armoured-vehicle exports

ReportedOfficial report

Türkiye’s original return lists 68 wheeled armoured personnel carriers for Kazakhstan.

Details and sources

The model is not named. The original misspelling is preserved in the evidence cells. These 68 cannot be equated with, or automatically added to, the 45 COBRA II vehicles in Kazakhstan’s 2024 acquisition review: reporting basis and programme overlap are unresolved. These are declared annual transfers, not current stocks or evidence of operational readiness.

Two A400M transport aircraft ordered

ContractedOfficial report

Airbus announced a two-aircraft order with maintenance and training support.

Details and sources

The same announcement records a maintenance-cooperation memorandum and a proposed local C295 maintenance centre. The order is distinct from delivery.

Official announcement date; exact arrival day not separately specified

Su-30SM batch arrives at Karaganda

Delivery reportedOfficial report

MoD reported arrival of new Su-30SM aircraft at the Nurken Abdirov air base.

Details and sources

The release says “zveno” but does not provide a numeral. No four-aircraft quantity is inferred from the formation term. The stated crew retraining and type description do not establish the later readiness or present stock of this batch.

Acquisition year explicitly stated retrospectively; month not assigned

Buk-M2E service entry dated to 2020

Service acceptance reportedOfficial report

Kazakh and Russian-language MoD accounts date acquisition of a Buk-M2E system to 2020.

Details and sources

The 2022 account specifies one battalion/divizion; launcher and missile quantities are not supplied. Neither the exact receipt day nor the total number of launchers and missiles is established here.

UNROCA calendar reporting year; month and day are not established

Russian equipment exports reported for 2020

ReportedOfficial report

Russia declared four attack helicopters for Kazakhstan.

Details and sources

Models are not identified in the UN rows; categories are retained without assigning aircraft, helicopter or artillery types. These are declared annual transfers, not current stocks or evidence of operational readiness.

Manufacturer announcement date

Border Service orders one C295

ContractedOfficial report

Airbus announced a firm order for one C295 transport for Kazakhstan’s Border Service.

Details and sources

The package included training, spares and ground support equipment. The release’s projected national fleet total of nine is not nine new aircraft, and the Border Service aircraft is not assigned to the Air Force. No completed delivery date is established by this contract announcement.

UNROCA calendar reporting year; month and day are not established

Serbia reports rocket and engine category exports

ReportedOfficial report

Serbia listed ten items for Kazakhstan, described jointly as 122/128 mm rockets and rocket engines.

Details and sources

The source does not split rockets from engines or explain the unit of count. Ten complete missiles, ten launchers or ten additional weapon systems cannot be inferred. These are declared annual transfers, not current stocks or evidence of operational readiness.

State exporter’s dated account of contracts signed during KADEX

KADEX equipment contracts announced

ContractedOfficial report

Kaspex announced contracts covering Su-30SM, Mi-35M, Tigr, Skylark 1-LEX and Atlas-LT equipment.

Details and sources

The procurement party names Irkut, Rosoboronexport/Russian Helicopters, VPK and Elbit. It also reports Safran/Thales cooperation memoranda and avionics contracts. Quantities, prices and delivery dates are not disclosed. Signing is not delivery and may overlap later annual export declarations.

UNROCA calendar reporting year; month and day are not established

Russian equipment exports reported for 2018

ReportedOfficial report

Russia declared 24 artillery systems, four combat aircraft and four attack helicopters for Kazakhstan.

Details and sources

Models are not identified in the UN rows; categories are retained without assigning aircraft, helicopter or artillery types. These are declared annual transfers, not current stocks or evidence of operational readiness.

UNROCA calendar reporting year; month and day are not established

Serbia declares 45 missile-category items

ReportedOfficial report

Serbia reported 45 items for Kazakhstan under missiles and missile launchers.

Details and sources

The item description is blank. The number is not presented as 45 launchers or assigned a missile model. These are declared annual transfers, not current stocks or evidence of operational readiness.

UNROCA calendar reporting year; month and day are not established

Ukraine declares six R-27 exports

ReportedOfficial report

Ukraine’s original return lists six R-27 items exported to Kazakhstan.

Details and sources

No variant, delivery month or unit allocation is disclosed. This is distinct from the same-year Serbian missile-category row. These are declared annual transfers, not current stocks or evidence of operational readiness.

Explicit receipt date in a later state-exporter announcement

Two Su-30SM aircraft received

Delivery reportedOfficial report

Kaspex reported delivery of two Irkut-built Su-30SM fighters to Kazakhstan’s Air Force.

Details and sources

The state exporter’s 5 January 2018 post explicitly dates receipt to 27 December 2017 and links it to a 2016–2018 framework contract. Publication in 2018 is not a second delivery year.

· Published

Same-day official report of flag ceremony and Navy entry

Mangystau commissioned into the Navy

Service acceptance reportedOfficial report

The regional administration reported that the missile-artillery vessel joined the Navy after its flag ceremony.

Details and sources

The administration dates its earlier launch to 25 April 2017 and identifies Zenit as builder. Launch and commissioning are two stages of the same vessel, not two acquisitions.

Manufacturer announcement date; contract signature day not separately given

Two further C295 aircraft ordered

ContractedOfficial report

Airbus announced a contract for two C295 transports with spares and support.

Details and sources

The two were the final aircraft covered by the 2012 memorandum. Delivery in the second half of 2017 was a forecast in this release; it is not recorded here as completed delivery or eight newly ordered aircraft.

January established by firsthand Army account; handover day not assigned

Fourth Huey II delivery documented

Delivery reportedOfficial report

A U.S. Army programme manager described completion of Kazakhstan’s fourth Huey II delivery in January.

Details and sources

The firsthand account says final assembly took place in Almaty and the case was finalised on 19 January. That administrative milestone is not assigned as an exact formal handover day. “Fourth” is a cumulative delivery sequence, not four new helicopters in 2017 or a current fleet count.

· Published

UNROCA calendar reporting year; month and day are not established

China declares three unmanned combat aircraft

ReportedOfficial report

China reported three unmanned combat aerial vehicles exported to Kazakhstan.

Details and sources

The description explicitly says unmanned combat aerial vehicles, although the row is placed under attack helicopters. The report does not name Wing Loong or another model; three attack helicopters are not inferred. These are declared annual transfers, not current stocks or evidence of operational readiness.

Scope

Dated developments cover 1991–2026. Ministry programme-budget observations cover 1997–2026; SIPRI separately covers 1994–2025. Personnel estimates, spending ratios and historical Kazakhstan Engineering group financial measures have their own indicators. Transfers and conflicting government returns are attributed, not summed into a current inventory. Group industry figures include civilian and dual-use business. Budget coverage changes, intermediate amendments and unknown dates remain in source details. This is a selected reference, not a complete inventory or readiness assessment.

Method & coverage

This is a curated public-source reference, not a complete inventory. Each record identifies an event or publication date, implementation stage and evidence type; the detail explains which date is known. An official report establishes what the issuer said; a contract does not establish delivery, and delivery does not establish readiness. Unknown quantities remain unknown. Records count publications or developments, not weapons, personnel or military strength.

Official report
The issuing institution reports the event or figure; this is not independent corroboration.
Independently corroborated
Distinct independent evidence supports the specific recorded claim.
Estimate
A sourced estimate, with its method and limits retained.
Unresolved
The available evidence does not establish the specific point.

SIPRI · Annual spending · SIPRI · Equipment & procurement

← Back to country overview