"Hayk's Arrow" Armenian Strategic Center

Defence industry

Maps defence manufacturers, industrial partnerships, facilities and production initiatives. Separates cooperation agreements, prototypes and public demonstrations from reported manufacturing, deliveries and exports, with the source and status of each record.

Last updated
Annual datasets 2
Kazakhstan Engineering - production value 2009–2014
Coverage and method

Reported value of production across all businesses in the Kazakhstan Engineering holding, from its 2014 management report. Includes civilian, special and dual-use production; this is not consolidated sales revenue or a count of weapons. Published rounded billion-KZT values are converted to nominal USD.

Historical Kazakhstan Engineering group figures, including civilian and dual-use businesses. Changing company coverage; not national arms output or current capacity. USD uses each year's published NBK average.

USD · current prices
YearValueStatus and source
2014$429.71 MnReported · Kazakhstan Engineering 2014 annual report · p. 15
Notes and conversion

Original rounded management table: 77.0 billion KZT; 2014 column. This records the year measured, not the later report-publication date.

Original-source amount: 77,000 KZT million · Annual average: 179.19 KZT / USD

National Bank of Kazakhstan - 2014 annual-average official exchange rates - USD year column
2013$516 MnReported · Kazakhstan Engineering 2014 annual report · p. 15
Notes and conversion

Original rounded management table: 78.5 billion KZT; 2013 column. This records the year measured, not the later report-publication date.

Original-source amount: 78,500 KZT million · Annual average: 152.13 KZT / USD

National Bank of Kazakhstan - 2013 annual-average official exchange rates - USD year column
2012$406.41 MnReported · Kazakhstan Engineering 2014 annual report · p. 15
Notes and conversion

Original rounded management table: 60.6 billion KZT; 2012 column. This records the year measured, not the later report-publication date.

Original-source amount: 60,600 KZT million · Annual average: 149.11 KZT / USD

National Bank of Kazakhstan - 2012 annual-average official exchange rates - USD year column
2011$228.48 MnReported · Kazakhstan Engineering 2014 annual report · p. 15
Notes and conversion

Original rounded management table: 33.5 billion KZT; 2011 column. This records the year measured, not the later report-publication date.

Original-source amount: 33,500 KZT million · Annual average: 146.62 KZT / USD

National Bank of Kazakhstan - 2011 annual-average official exchange rates - USD year column
2010$129.62 MnReported · Kazakhstan Engineering 2014 annual report · p. 15
Notes and conversion

Original rounded management table: 19.1 billion KZT; 2010 column. This records the year measured, not the later report-publication date.

Original-source amount: 19,100 KZT million · Annual average: 147.35 KZT / USD

National Bank of Kazakhstan - 2010 annual-average official exchange rates - USD year column
2009$125.42 MnReported · Kazakhstan Engineering 2014 annual report · p. 15
Notes and conversion

Original rounded management table: 18.5 billion KZT; 2009 column. This records the year measured, not the later report-publication date.

Original-source amount: 18,500 KZT million · Annual average: 147.5 KZT / USD

National Bank of Kazakhstan - 2009 annual-average official exchange rates - USD year column
Kazakhstan Engineering - sales revenue 2013–2017
Coverage and method

Group sales revenue from Kazakhstan Engineering's 2017 management table. Includes civilian and dual-use products and services; company composition can change. These rounded figures are a different measure from the production-value series and are not spliced into it. They are not precise audited-statement revenue amounts.

Historical Kazakhstan Engineering group figures, including civilian and dual-use businesses. Changing company coverage; not national arms output or current capacity. USD uses each year's published NBK average.

USD · current prices
YearValueStatus and source
2017$257.66 MnReported · Kazakhstan Engineering 2017 annual report · p. 22
Notes and conversion

Original rounded management table: 84 billion KZT; 2017 column. This records the year measured, not the later report-publication date.

Original-source amount: 84,000 KZT million · Annual average: 326 KZT / USD

National Bank of Kazakhstan - 2017 annual-average official exchange rates - USD year column
2016$207.5 MnReported · Kazakhstan Engineering 2017 annual report · p. 22
Notes and conversion

Original rounded management table: 71 billion KZT; 2016 column. This records the year measured, not the later report-publication date.

Original-source amount: 71,000 KZT million · Annual average: 342.16 KZT / USD

National Bank of Kazakhstan - 2016 annual-average official exchange rates - USD year column
2015$288.63 MnReported · Kazakhstan Engineering 2017 annual report · p. 22
Notes and conversion

Original rounded management table: 64 billion KZT; 2015 column. This records the year measured, not the later report-publication date.

Original-source amount: 64,000 KZT million · Annual average: 221.73 KZT / USD

National Bank of Kazakhstan - 2015 annual-average official exchange rates - USD year column
2014$217.64 MnReported · Kazakhstan Engineering 2017 annual report · p. 22
Notes and conversion

Original rounded management table: 39 billion KZT; 2014 column. This records the year measured, not the later report-publication date.

Original-source amount: 39,000 KZT million · Annual average: 179.19 KZT / USD

National Bank of Kazakhstan - 2014 annual-average official exchange rates - USD year column
2013$295.79 MnReported · Kazakhstan Engineering 2017 annual report · p. 22
Notes and conversion

Original rounded management table: 45 billion KZT; 2013 column. This records the year measured, not the later report-publication date.

Original-source amount: 45,000 KZT million · Annual average: 152.13 KZT / USD

National Bank of Kazakhstan - 2013 annual-average official exchange rates - USD year column
Filters

Showing 14 of 14 records

Counter-UAV system patent reported

ReportedOfficial report

Kazakhstan Engineering’s R&D centre reports patent 12821 for a UAV-detection and suppression system.

Details and sources

The centre gives 28 August as the patent date. A patent does not establish operational deployment or proven effectiveness.

Barys-A 8×8 presented to MoD

Publicly displayedOfficial report

KPE presented the Barys-A amphibious armoured vehicle at its production facility.

Details and sources

The company announced the presentation on 5 April and described production plans. Projected capacity is not treated as actual output or accepted military deliveries.

· Published

MoD–industry joint commission proposed

AnnouncedOfficial report

At an industry conference in Almaty, MoD and the defence-industry association agreed to create a joint coordination commission.

Details and sources

The announcement records an intended coordination mechanism. It does not quantify signed orders or completed industrial output.

Agreement month reported retrospectively

Barys-A technology-transfer agreement

SignedOfficial report

KPE reports signing a technology-transfer agreement with ST Engineering Land Systems for the Barys-A 8×8 vehicle.

Details and sources

The November 2024 signing is described retrospectively in KPE’s April 2025 announcement. A transfer agreement does not establish military acceptance or delivered quantities.

· Published

Reported in the 2024 review; signing day unspecified

Baykar trial-supply protocol reported

SignedOfficial report

A protocol records Baykar’s intent to provide Kalkan, Mini and Mosquito-X systems for military trials.

Details and sources

The annual review confirms intent, not delivery or serial local production.

· Published

C295 heavy maintenance completed locally

Completion reportedOfficial report

Kazakhstan Aviation Industry returned a C295M after completing a C+4Y maintenance check.

Details and sources

Kazakhstan Engineering reports customer acceptance on 15 April. This is maintenance of an existing aircraft, not a new delivery.

· Published

Reported first-phase launch date

Cartridge plant first phase launched

Production reportedOfficial report

Kazakhstan Engineering reported launch of Steel Manufacturing’s first small-arms-ammunition production phase in Karaganda.

Details and sources

The source describes a first-phase launch and future equipment expansion and export-standard work. It does not establish full plant capacity or annual cartridge deliveries.

Manufacturer announcement date; exact acceptance date not separately disclosed

Arlan batch delivery reported

Delivery reportedOfficial report

Paramount reported an Arlan 4×4 batch delivered to Kazakhstan’s MoD and special services.

Details and sources

The manufacturer did not disclose the batch quantity. The announcement is a delivery claim, not an independently corroborated output total.

Date of the named legal act

Defence-industry and defence-order law

AdoptedOfficial report

Law 236-VI regulated defence industry, state defence orders and selected arms-equipment transactions.

Details and sources

The date records adoption of the named act; later amendments and operational implementation remain separate.

Manufacturer’s production-start announcement and presidential visit date

Arlan factory production starts

Production reportedOfficial report

Paramount reported the start of Arlan production at the new KPE factory during the president’s visit.

Details and sources

Akorda confirms the factory visit; the manufacturer supplies the production-start claim. Planned capacity above 200 vehicles per year is not actual output or military acceptance.

Event date stated retrospectively by the named primary source

Electro-optical factory opened

ReportedOfficial report

Kazakh Invest records the opening of Kazakhstan Aselsan Engineering’s factory in December 2013.

Details and sources

The undated official profile identifies electronic and electro-optical manufacturing. The reported 7,200-device yearly capacity is not a verified annual production total.

Event date stated retrospectively by the named primary source

Kazakhstan Aselsan joint venture formed

EstablishedOfficial report

Kazakh Invest dates the electro-optical joint venture’s establishment to 2011.

Details and sources

The official investment-agency profile is undated. It separately dates the factory opening to December 2013; its capacity figures are not actual annual output.

Event date stated retrospectively by the named primary source

Kazakhstan Engineering holding created

EstablishedOfficial report

Government Resolution 244 established the national defence-industry holding.

Details and sources

The company’s history cites the resolution; its 2014 report separately dates legal registration to 16 April 2003. The group also makes civilian and dual-use goods.

Scope

Dated developments cover 1991–2026. Ministry programme-budget observations cover 1997–2026; SIPRI separately covers 1994–2025. Personnel estimates, spending ratios and historical Kazakhstan Engineering group financial measures have their own indicators. Transfers and conflicting government returns are attributed, not summed into a current inventory. Group industry figures include civilian and dual-use business. Budget coverage changes, intermediate amendments and unknown dates remain in source details. This is a selected reference, not a complete inventory or readiness assessment.

Method & coverage

This is a curated public-source reference, not a complete inventory. Each record identifies an event or publication date, implementation stage and evidence type; the detail explains which date is known. An official report establishes what the issuer said; a contract does not establish delivery, and delivery does not establish readiness. Unknown quantities remain unknown. Records count publications or developments, not weapons, personnel or military strength.

Official report
The issuing institution reports the event or figure; this is not independent corroboration.
Independently corroborated
Distinct independent evidence supports the specific recorded claim.
Estimate
A sourced estimate, with its method and limits retained.
Unresolved
The available evidence does not establish the specific point.

SIPRI · Annual spending · SIPRI · Equipment & procurement

← Back to country overview