KIZILELMA internal-bay firing tests reported
Baykar reports internal-bay firing tests on 25 and 28 July.
Details and sources
Date marks the later reported test. Manufacturer testing does not establish operational service acceptance.
· Published
Maps defence manufacturers, industrial partnerships, facilities and production initiatives. Separates cooperation agreements, prototypes and public demonstrations from reported manufacturing, deliveries and exports, with the source and status of each record.
Reported annual turnover of the defence and aerospace sector, including civil aerospace.
Published headline totals, including civil aerospace. Survey coverage and consolidation change between years; not a uniform growth series.
| Year | Value | Status and source |
|---|---|---|
| 2023 | $15.07 Bn | Reported · SASAD 2023 sector performance report · PDF p.4 · p. 4Notes and conversionThe detailed turnover section describes its headline total as actual turnover with domestic intercompany duplication removed. Earlier headline totals use different consolidation conventions. |
| 2022 | $12.19 Bn | Reported · SASAD 2022 sector performance report · PDF p.5 · p. 5 |
| 2021 | $10.15 Bn | Reported · SASAD 2021 sector performance report · PDF p.7 · p. 7 |
| 2020 | $8.85 Bn | Reported · SASAD 2020 sector performance report · PDF p.7 · p. 7 |
| 2019 | $10.88 Bn | Reported · SASAD 2020 sector performance report · PDF p.7 · p. 7Notes and conversionHeadline turnover is USD10,884m; the report also gives USD9,366m after eliminating intercompany transactions. Historical totals are not fully harmonised. |
| 2018 | $8.76 Bn | Reported · SASAD 2018 sector performance report · PDF p.3 · p. 3Notes and conversionThe 2018 report includesTHY Teknik, a material addition, and military factories. Military-establishment estimates already appeared in the 2015 report. Changed coverage means the jump is not wholly organic growth. Headline turnover is USD8,761m; the report also gives USD7,894m after eliminating intercompany transactions. The headline is retained here. |
| 2017 | $6.69 Bn | Reported · SASAD 2017 sector performance report · PDF p.3 · p. 3 |
| 2016 | $5.96 Bn | Reported · SASAD 2016 sector performance report · PDF p.3 · p. 3 |
| 2015 | $4.9 Bn | Reported · SASAD 2015 sector performance report · PDF p.3 · p. 3Notes and conversionThe 2015 survey includes estimation components for military establishments: employment was estimated and their turnover was carried forward atUSD 650 m. Reported aggregate, not an independently audited census. |
| 2014 | $5.1 Bn | Reported · SASAD 2014 sector performance report · PDF p.2 · p. 2 |
| 2013 | $5.07 Bn | Reported · SASAD 2013 sector performance report · PDF p.6 · p. 6 |
| 2012 | $4.75 Bn | Reported · SASAD 2012 sector performance report · PDF p.3 · p. 3 |
| 2011 | $4.4 Bn | Reported · SASAD 2012 performance report · historical turnover table, PDF p.4 · p. 4Notes and conversionRounded historical value in the 2012 SASAD report; coverage may differ from later compilations. |
| 2010 | $4.17 Bn | Reported · SASAD 2012 performance report · historical turnover table, PDF p.4 · p. 4Notes and conversionRounded historical value in the 2012 SASAD report; coverage may differ from later compilations. |
| 2009 | $3.06 Bn | Reported · SASAD 2012 performance report · historical turnover table, PDF p.4 · p. 4Notes and conversionRounded historical value in the 2012 SASAD report; coverage may differ from later compilations. |
| 2008 | $3.11 Bn | Reported · SASAD 2012 performance report · historical turnover table, PDF p.4 · p. 4Notes and conversionRounded historical value in the 2012 SASAD report; coverage may differ from later compilations. |
| 2007 | $3.02 Bn | Reported · SASAD 2012 performance report · historical turnover table, PDF p.4 · p. 4Notes and conversionRounded historical value in the 2012 SASAD report; coverage may differ from later compilations. |
Defence-and-aerospace company turnover compiled by SSB/YETEN, in nominal currentUSD. Kept separate from the SASAD-published historical series because like-for-like coverage across releases is not established. Includes civil aerospace; not military-only revenue.
SSB compilation; separate from SASAD.2025 turnover was not established in the reviewed report.
| Year | Value | Status and source |
|---|---|---|
| 2024 | $20.23 Bn | Reported · SSB 2025 activity report · printed p.26 / PDF p.33, Table 6 · p. 33 |
SASAD overseas-sales revenue, including foreign-currency-earning services and civil aerospace. This survey measure is separate from the SSB export compilation and the earlier merchandise-export series.
SASAD survey, including civil aerospace.2018 addsTHY Teknik to coverage; survey populations change over time. Current nominalUSD.
| Year | Value | Status and source |
|---|---|---|
| 2023 | $5.54 Bn | Reported · SASAD 2023 sector performance report · PDF p.4 · p. 4Notes and conversionUses the report overview:USD 5,545,622,000. One body paragraph instead printsUSD 5,545,522,000; theUSD 100,000 internal discrepancy is preserved here. |
| 2022 | $4.39 Bn | Reported · SASAD 2022 sector performance report · PDF p.5 · p. 5 |
| 2021 | $3.22 Bn | Reported · SASAD 2021 sector performance report · PDF p.7 · p. 7 |
| 2020 | $2.26 Bn | Reported · SASAD 2020 sector performance report · PDF p.7 · p. 7 |
| 2019 | $3.06 Bn | Reported · SASAD 2020 sector performance report · PDF p.7 · p. 7 |
| 2018 | $2.18 Bn | Reported · SASAD 2018 sector performance report · PDF p.3 · p. 3Notes and conversionThe 2018 report includesTHY Teknik, a material addition, and military factories. Military-establishment estimates already appeared in the 2015 report. Changed coverage means the jump is not wholly organic growth. |
| 2017 | $1.82 Bn | Reported · SASAD 2017 sector performance report · PDF p.3 · p. 3 |
| 2016 | $1.95 Bn | Reported · SASAD 2016 sector performance report · PDF p.3 · p. 3 |
| 2015 | $1.92 Bn | Reported · SASAD 2015 sector performance report · PDF p.3 · p. 3 |
| 2014 | $1.85 Bn | Reported · SASAD 2014 sector performance report · PDF p.2 · p. 2 |
| 2013 | $1.56 Bn | Reported · SASAD 2013 sector performance report · PDF p.6 · p. 6 |
SSB defence-and-aerospace export performance measure. The 2025 foreword explicitly includes defence-industry service exports. Separate from SASAD overseas sales and earlier merchandise exports; no like-for-like growth calculation across these definitions.
SSB export measure, including services in 2025; not the SASAD overseas-sales survey.
| Year | Value | Status and source |
|---|---|---|
| 2025 | $10.05 Bn | Reported · SSB 2025 activity report · printed p.26 / PDF p.33, Table 6 · p. 33 |
| 2024 | $7.15 Bn | Reported · SSB 2025 activity report · printed p.26 / PDF p.33, Table 6 · p. 33 |
Industry-reported product and technology-development expenditure, including own-funded and supported projects.
SASAD survey, including civil aerospace.2018 addsTHY Teknik to coverage; survey populations change over time. Current nominalUSD.
| Year | Value | Status and source |
|---|---|---|
| 2023 | $2.62 Bn | Reported · SASAD 2023 sector performance report · PDF p.4 · p. 4 |
| 2022 | $2.06 Bn | Reported · SASAD 2022 sector performance report · PDF p.5 · p. 5 |
| 2021 | $1.63 Bn | Reported · SASAD 2021 sector performance report · PDF p.7 · p. 7 |
| 2020 | $1.24 Bn | Reported · SASAD 2020 sector performance report · PDF p.7 · p. 7 |
| 2019 | $1.67 Bn | Reported · SASAD 2020 sector performance report · PDF p.7 · p. 7 |
| 2018 | $1.44 Bn | Reported · SASAD 2018 sector performance report · PDF p.3 · p. 3Notes and conversionThe 2018 report includesTHY Teknik, a material addition, and military factories. Military-establishment estimates already appeared in the 2015 report. Changed coverage means the jump is not wholly organic growth. |
| 2017 | $1.23 Bn | Reported · SASAD 2017 sector performance report · PDF p.3 · p. 3 |
| 2016 | $1.25 Bn | Reported · SASAD 2016 sector performance report · PDF p.3 · p. 3 |
| 2015 | $904 Mn | Reported · SASAD 2015 sector performance report · PDF p.3 · p. 3 |
| 2014 | $887 Mn | Reported · SASAD 2014 sector performance report · PDF p.2 · p. 2 |
| 2013 | $926 Mn | Reported · SASAD 2013 sector performance report · PDF p.6 · p. 6Notes and conversionMain overview: USD 926 m; detailed section: USD 927 m. The chart follows the overview, also repeated in the next report. |
| 2012 | $772.75 Mn | Reported · SASAD 2012 sector performance report · PDF p.3 · p. 3 |
| 2011 | $672 Mn | Reported · SASAD 2012 performance report · historical R&D table, PDF p.10 · p. 10Notes and conversionRounded historical research-and-development expenditure. |
| 2010 | $666 Mn | Reported · SASAD 2012 performance report · historical R&D table, PDF p.10 · p. 10Notes and conversionRounded historical research-and-development expenditure. |
| 2009 | $505 Mn | Reported · SASAD 2012 performance report · historical R&D table, PDF p.10 · p. 10Notes and conversionRounded historical research-and-development expenditure. |
| 2008 | $509 Mn | Reported · SASAD 2012 performance report · historical R&D table, PDF p.10 · p. 10Notes and conversionRounded historical research-and-development expenditure. |
| 2007 | $367 Mn | Reported · SASAD 2012 performance report · historical R&D table, PDF p.10 · p. 10Notes and conversionRounded historical research-and-development expenditure. |
Employment reported by the defence-and-aerospace industry survey; not armed-forces personnel.
Industry survey employment, including civil aerospace; not armed-forces strength. Survey coverage changes, includingTHY Teknik in 2018.
| Year | Value | Status and source |
|---|---|---|
| 2023 | 90,969 | Reported · SASAD 2023 sector performance report · PDF p.4 · p. 4 |
| 2022 | 81,132 | Reported · SASAD 2022 sector performance report · PDF p.4 · p. 4 |
| 2021 | 75,660 | Reported · SASAD 2021 sector performance report · PDF p.6 · p. 6 |
| 2020 | 77,566 | Reported · SASAD 2020 sector performance report · PDF p.6 · p. 6 |
| 2019 | 73,771 | Reported · SASAD 2019 sector performance report · PDF p.3 · p. 3 |
| 2018 | 67,239 | Reported · SASAD 2018 sector performance report · PDF p.3 · p. 3Notes and conversionThe 2018 report includesTHY Teknik, a material addition, and military factories. Military-establishment estimates already appeared in the 2015 report. Changed coverage means the jump is not wholly organic growth. |
| 2017 | 44,740 | Reported · SASAD 2017 sector performance report · PDF p.3 · p. 3 |
| 2016 | 35,502 | Reported · SASAD 2016 sector performance report · PDF p.3 · p. 3 |
| 2015 | 31,375 | Reported · SASAD 2015 sector performance report · PDF p.3 · p. 3Notes and conversionThe 2015 survey includes estimation components for military establishments: employment was estimated and their turnover was carried forward atUSD 650 m. Reported aggregate, not an independently audited census. |
| 2014 | 31,242 | Reported · SASAD 2014 sector performance report · PDF p.2 · p. 2 |
| 2013 | 32,368 | Reported · SASAD 2013 sector performance report · PDF p.6 · p. 6 |
| 2012 | 33,491 | Reported · SASAD 2012 sector performance report · PDF p.3 · p. 3 |
Earlier export measure reported by SASAD from exporters-association data; kept separate from broader overseas sales.
Merchandise-export measure reported in 2012, nominalUSD. Kept separate from the broader overseas-sales measure introduced in 2013.
| Year | Value | Status and source |
|---|---|---|
| 2012 | $1.26 Bn | Reported · SASAD 2012 report · export table, PDF p.6 · p. 6 |
| 2011 | $1.1 Bn | Reported · SASAD 2012 report · export table, PDF p.6 · p. 6Notes and conversionRounded historical value in the 2012 SASAD report; coverage may differ from later compilations. |
| 2010 | $853 Mn | Reported · SASAD 2012 report · export table, PDF p.6 · p. 6Notes and conversionRounded historical value in the 2012 SASAD report; coverage may differ from later compilations. |
| 2009 | $832 Mn | Reported · SASAD 2012 report · export table, PDF p.6 · p. 6Notes and conversionRounded historical value in the 2012 SASAD report; coverage may differ from later compilations. |
| 2008 | $784 Mn | Reported · SASAD 2012 report · export table, PDF p.6 · p. 6Notes and conversionRounded historical value in the 2012 SASAD report; coverage may differ from later compilations. |
| 2007 | $615 Mn | Reported · SASAD 2012 report · export table, PDF p.6 · p. 6Notes and conversionRounded historical value in the 2012 SASAD report; coverage may differ from later compilations. |
Baykar reports internal-bay firing tests on 25 and 28 July.
Date marks the later reported test. Manufacturer testing does not establish operational service acceptance.
· Published
NATO lists Türkiye among participants in generic 155mm ammunition and ground precision-strike development initiatives.
The Ankara announcement concerns collaborative development and prototyping; it does not establish serial production or delivery.
Leonardo reported crewed–uncrewed flight trials involving M-346 aircraft and KIZILELMA at Baykar’s Çorlu test centre.
The release is dated 22 June 2026 and says the trials took place in May. A precise May day is not disclosed. This is manufacturer-reported testing, not operational deployment.
Airbus announced Spain’s selection of its integrated combat-training system with Turkish Aerospace, including 30 HÜRJET aircraft.
The contract concerns aircraft, conversion and training infrastructure. It is a contracted Spanish programme, not delivery of 30 operational trainers. No value in an unconverted currency is presented.
ASELSAN and Türkiye’s presidency announced the groundbreaking of the Oğulbey Technology Base, expanding planned defence-electronics production capacity.
Groundbreaking and investment plans are distinct from an opened, fully productive factory. This is an industrial-site milestone separate from the same day’s Steel Dome equipment handover.
Turkish Aerospace announced a definitive contract with Indonesia for 48 KAAN combat aircraft following an earlier memorandum of understanding.
The release published on 1 August places signing at IDEF-2025 in July. The month is retained without inventing a day. The aircraft are contracted exports, not completed deliveries or Indonesian operational aircraft.
· Published
Leonardo’s half-year report records the 16 June agreement establishing the equally owned LBA Systems venture with Baykar.
The industrial arrangement is reported as an equal-share venture based in Italy. It is separate from later product testing and from any sales or delivery contracts.
STM announced the first export contract for KARGU with an armour-piercing warhead, with delivery planned later in 2025.
The statement does not disclose the customer or quantity. Despite export wording in the headline, its body describes a signed contract and future delivery; this is therefore classified as contracted.
Baykar and Leonardo signed a memorandum covering cooperation in unmanned-aircraft technologies and a planned joint venture.
The memorandum precedes the June joint-venture agreement. Signing it is not evidence of completed production or delivery.
STM signed a contract in Lisbon to build two Auxiliary Oiler Replenisher ships for the Portuguese Navy.
The announcement describes construction in Türkiye and planned subsequent deliveries. Its reference to a first naval export to an EU and NATO member means the contract, not delivery of finished ships.
Baykar records a TB3 take-off and landing test on TCG Anadolu on 19 November 2024.
The manufacturer’s account documents a flight-test milestone. It does not provide the size or readiness of an operational embarked TB3 unit.
Turkish Aerospace records the first flight of the second HÜRJET prototype on 12 November 2024.
This is a distinct prototype-development milestone, not a second operational aircraft delivery. Manufacturer-reported future delivery schedules remain plans.
STM signed a contract to construct three Littoral Mission Ship Batch-2 corvettes for the Royal Malaysian Navy in Türkiye.
The manufacturer’s announcement establishes the contract and vessel count. It does not establish completed construction, delivery or Malaysian operational acceptance.
Turkish Aerospace’s 2024 report dates the first flight of the KAAN combat-aircraft prototype to 21 February 2024.
The source is the manufacturer’s retrospective annual report. A prototype flight does not establish serial delivery, operational readiness or independently verified signature characteristics.
Turkish Aerospace reported the first flight of the ANKA III unmanned-aircraft demonstrator.
The manufacturer dates the flight to 28 December 2023. The record describes a test milestone, not an operational fleet or independently verified performance.
Turkish Aerospace records the first flight of the HÜRJET jet-trainer prototype on 25 April 2023.
This is a development milestone reported by the manufacturer. The prototype flight is separate from series deliveries to the air force.
The GÖKBEY helicopter completed its first crewed test flight powered by TEI’s domestically developed TS1400 turboshaft engines.
TEI specifies 19 April 2023. This was an engine-integration flight-test milestone, not evidence that all delivered GÖKBEY helicopters used this engine or that serial engine deliveries were complete.
Baykar reported the first flight of its KIZILELMA unmanned combat-aircraft prototype.
The record concerns a manufacturer-reported prototype flight. It does not establish operational service, production quantities or combat readiness.
Law 7330 converts MKE into a Treasury-owned joint-stock company under defence-ministry management.
Date is the law’s adoption date cited by MKE, not a factory opening or new production line.
The T625 GÖKBEY helicopter prototype makes its first flight.
Separate from the 2023 first flight using Turkish TS1400 engines and the 2024 first customer handover.
Historical and current source records on ministry budgets, equipment, forces, defence industry and partnerships. Annual personnel and industrial indicators are separate from event counts. Retrospective corporate histories are identified; manufacturer reports do not independently establish operational readiness. Source definitions and population changes remain visible. Ministry budgets, SIPRI expenditure and industrial revenues have different scopes and must not be added together.
This is a curated public-source reference, not a complete inventory. Each record identifies an event or publication date, implementation stage and evidence type; the detail explains which date is known. An official report establishes what the issuer said; a contract does not establish delivery, and delivery does not establish readiness. Unknown quantities remain unknown. Records count publications or developments, not weapons, personnel or military strength.