A source-based profile of defence spending, procurement, forces, industry and partnerships. Open a section for short dated records, evidence and implementation status.
Historical active-duty armed-forces and qualifying paramilitary personnel, excluding reservists, from IISS The Military Balance as distributed by the World Bank. The indicator combines regular and paramilitary forces and uses estimates where exact numbers are unavailable. It does not measure readiness, mobilised strength or current force capability.
Historical estimates · latest observation 2020. Regular military and qualifying paramilitary personnel are combined; reserves are excluded. No later headcount or explanation of annual changes is inferred.
Military expenditure · share of GDP 1994–1999Coverage and method
SIPRI’s published military-budget observations as a percentage of GDP for the same calendar year. The country is marked as adopted budgets, rather than actual expenditure.
Historical adopted-budget observations, not verified execution. SIPRI flags classification changes in Turkmenistan’s public accounts and no information after 1999 (country note 53). No missing year or current spending trend is inferred.
Published cell BA128; fraction multiplied by 100. Adopted-budget marker § and country note 53: changing public-account classifications; no information after 1999. No interpolation.
Published cell AZ128; fraction multiplied by 100. Adopted-budget marker § and country note 53: changing public-account classifications; no information after 1999. No interpolation.
Published cell AY128; fraction multiplied by 100. Adopted-budget marker § and country note 53: changing public-account classifications; no information after 1999. No interpolation.
Published cell AX128; fraction multiplied by 100. Adopted-budget marker § and country note 53: changing public-account classifications; no information after 1999. No interpolation.
Published cell AW128; fraction multiplied by 100. Adopted-budget marker § and country note 53: changing public-account classifications; no information after 1999. No interpolation.
Published cell AV128; fraction multiplied by 100. Adopted-budget marker § and country note 53: changing public-account classifications; no information after 1999. No interpolation.
Military expenditure · share of government spending 1997–1999Coverage and method
SIPRI’s military-budget observations divided by general government expenditure for the financial year, shown as percentages. These are adopted-budget observations, not verified spending outturns.
Historical adopted-budget observations, not verified execution. SIPRI flags classification changes in Turkmenistan’s public accounts and no information after 1999 (country note 53). No missing year or current spending trend is inferred.
Published cell O130; fraction multiplied by 100. Adopted-budget marker § and country note 53: changing public-account classifications; no information after 1999. No interpolation.
Published cell N130; fraction multiplied by 100. Adopted-budget marker § and country note 53: changing public-account classifications; no information after 1999. No interpolation.
Published cell M130; fraction multiplied by 100. Adopted-budget marker § and country note 53: changing public-account classifications; no information after 1999. No interpolation.
U.S. FMF-funded implemented case value 2020–2024Coverage and method
Net authorised value of implemented cases and amendments financed by U.S. Foreign Military Financing (FMF). Counted in the U.S. fiscal year when the LOA, amendment or modification is implemented. This is not physical delivery, cash expenditure or Turkmenistan military expenditure. DSCA FY2024 report, published 1 July 2025: comparable retroactive FMS/FMF split for FY2020–FY2024. Explicit source zeros are retained. The −USD231 FMF observation in FY2022 is a downward case adjustment; do not round it away or label it a negative delivery. Earlier reports included BPC/FAA programmes and must not be spliced into this definition. FY2025–26 are not inferred.
Implemented FMF case values · US fiscal years. The −$231 in 2022 is a net downward adjustment, not a delivery or national expenditure. Later years are unavailable.
Original FMF row: USD 1,358,921; U.S. FY2020 (2019-10-01–2020-09-30).
U.S. FMS implemented case value 2020–2024Coverage and method
Net authorised value of implemented cases and amendments financed by partner funds (FMS). Counted in the U.S. fiscal year when the LOA, amendment or modification is implemented. This is not physical delivery, cash expenditure or Turkmenistan military expenditure. DSCA FY2024 report, published 1 July 2025: comparable retroactive FMS/FMF split for FY2020–FY2024. Explicit source zeros are retained. The −USD231 FMF observation in FY2022 is a downward case adjustment; do not round it away or label it a negative delivery. Earlier reports included BPC/FAA programmes and must not be spliced into this definition. FY2025–26 are not inferred.
Partner-funded implemented FMS cases · US fiscal years. Dots are explicit published zeros. Separate from FMF financing, physical deliveries and national budgets.
Original FMS row: USD 0; U.S. FY2020 (2019-10-01–2020-09-30).
U.S. IMET training allocation 2010–2017Coverage and method
Dollar allocation for training foreign military students and associated aids/materials, without reimbursement to the United States. The table also includes military-assistance service-funded training and emergency drawdowns. DSCA counts this programme fully delivered when funded; that accounting convention does not verify every course’s completion. DSCA Historical Facts Book, data as of 30 September 2017. U.S. fiscal years; original monetary table unit is USD thousands, divided by 1,000 for USD millions. Source dashes remain omitted; they are not converted into zero. Historical report definitions and vintage are retained separately from the FY2024 FMS/FMF split. Do not add financing, agreements and deliveries together.
USD · US fiscal years · 2017 report vintage. Financing, agreements, deliveries and training allocations are distinct measures. Source dashes remain missing; later report definitions are not spliced in.
U.S. FY2010: 2009-10-01–2010-09-30. Original table: 262 USD thousand.
U.S. IMET table · students trained 2010–2016Coverage and method
Annual students trained in the DSCA IMET table, including military-assistance service-funded and emergency-drawdown training. Programme counts are not force strength and do not identify unique individuals across years. DSCA data as of 30 September 2017, U.S. fiscal years. These are annual training-table student counts, not unique people across all years or the size of the Turkmen armed forces. Source dashes are omitted; no zero is inferred. Do not merge different training programmes.
Programme-table students · US fiscal years · 2017 report vintage. Counts are not force strength or unique people across years. Source dashes remain missing.
U.S. FY2010: 2009-10-01–2010-09-30. Original table: 5 students.
U.S. counterterrorism training allocation 2010–2017Coverage and method
Regional Defense Combating Terrorism Fellowship Program (CTFP) allocation for foreign military training and related materials without reimbursement to the United States. DSCA considers the programme delivered when funded. This is a specific training programme, not all U.S. assistance or Turkmen military spending. DSCA Historical Facts Book, data as of 30 September 2017. U.S. fiscal years; original monetary table unit is USD thousands, divided by 1,000 for USD millions. Source dashes remain omitted; they are not converted into zero. Historical report definitions and vintage are retained separately from the FY2024 FMS/FMF split. Do not add financing, agreements and deliveries together.
USD · US fiscal years · 2017 report vintage. Financing, agreements, deliveries and training allocations are distinct measures. Source dashes remain missing; later report definitions are not spliced in.
U.S. FY2010: 2009-10-01–2010-09-30. Original table: 15 USD thousand.
U.S. counterterrorism programme · trainees 2010–2017Coverage and method
Annual students trained under the Regional Defense Combating Terrorism Fellowship Program (CTFP), reported separately from IMET. Funding-year amounts and student counts can differ; no cost-per-student ratio is calculated. DSCA data as of 30 September 2017, U.S. fiscal years. These are annual training-table student counts, not unique people across all years or the size of the Turkmen armed forces. Source dashes are omitted; no zero is inferred. Do not merge different training programmes.
Programme-table students · US fiscal years · 2017 report vintage. Counts are not force strength or unique people across years. Source dashes remain missing.
U.S. FY2010: 2009-10-01–2010-09-30. Original table: 2 students.
U.S. FMF grants extended · 2017 report 2010–2016Coverage and method
FMF credit/grant extended in the fiscal year for defence procurement; Turkmenistan’s entries are entirely payment-waived grants. These financing amounts may fund contracts in earlier, current or later years. They are not implemented-case values, delivery costs or Turkmen budget expenditure. DSCA Historical Facts Book, data as of 30 September 2017. U.S. fiscal years; original monetary table unit is USD thousands, divided by 1,000 for USD millions. Source dashes remain omitted; they are not converted into zero. Historical report definitions and vintage are retained separately from the FY2024 FMS/FMF split. Do not add financing, agreements and deliveries together.
USD · US fiscal years · 2017 report vintage. Financing, agreements, deliveries and training allocations are distinct measures. Source dashes remain missing; later report definitions are not spliced in.
U.S. FY2010: 2009-10-01–2010-09-30. Original table: 2,000 USD thousand.
U.S. FMS agreements · 2017 report 2016–2017Coverage and method
Defence articles and services purchased through FMS with cash, credit or MAP merger funds. This is the 2017 report’s agreement measure, including its historical revisions; it is not the FY2024 partner-financed-only FMS measure or physical delivery. DSCA Historical Facts Book, data as of 30 September 2017. U.S. fiscal years; original monetary table unit is USD thousands, divided by 1,000 for USD millions. Source dashes remain omitted; they are not converted into zero. Historical report definitions and vintage are retained separately from the FY2024 FMS/FMF split. Do not add financing, agreements and deliveries together.
USD · US fiscal years · 2017 report vintage. Financing, agreements, deliveries and training allocations are distinct measures. Source dashes remain missing; later report definitions are not spliced in.
U.S. FY2016: 2015-10-01–2016-09-30. Original table: 60 USD thousand.
U.S. FMS deliveries · 2017 report 2010–2016Coverage and method
DSCA’s historical value of defence articles and services delivered under FMS. The definition includes accrued expenditure and reporting after shipment or service performance. This is a dated U.S. supplier-side programme account, not Turkmenistan’s annual military expenditure. DSCA Historical Facts Book, data as of 30 September 2017. U.S. fiscal years; original monetary table unit is USD thousands, divided by 1,000 for USD millions. Source dashes remain omitted; they are not converted into zero. Historical report definitions and vintage are retained separately from the FY2024 FMS/FMF split. Do not add financing, agreements and deliveries together.
USD · US fiscal years · 2017 report vintage. Financing, agreements, deliveries and training allocations are distinct measures. Source dashes remain missing; later report definitions are not spliced in.
U.S. FY2010: 2009-10-01–2010-09-30. Original table: 27 USD thousand.
Italian export authorisations 2014–2019Coverage and method
Italian supplier-side defence-export licence values for Turkmenistan, by calendar year, from the original government report to Parliament. These authorisations are not completed deliveries, paid invoices, individual platform contract prices or Turkmen defence spending. Converted from EUR at the matching annual-average ECB USD/EUR rate. The 2014 and 2015 comparison-table source values are rounded to EUR0.1million; 2016, 2017 and 2019 retain the detailed country-table values. A missing 2018 observation is not zero.
Supplier authorisations, not deliveries or Turkmen expenditure. Matching-year average currency rates; 2014–15 source values are rounded. No 2018 zero is inferred.
This is the supplier’s calendar-year authorisation value, not deliveries, paid invoices, a platform contract price or Turkmen defence expenditure. The report does not allocate the country total to individual aircraft or vessels. The detailed country table supplies the euro value and licence count.
This is the supplier’s calendar-year authorisation value, not deliveries, paid invoices, a platform contract price or Turkmen defence expenditure. The report does not allocate the country total to individual aircraft or vessels. The detailed country table supplies the euro value and licence count.
This is the supplier’s calendar-year authorisation value, not deliveries, paid invoices, a platform contract price or Turkmen defence expenditure. The report does not allocate the country total to individual aircraft or vessels. The detailed country table supplies the euro value and licence count.
This is the supplier’s calendar-year authorisation value, not deliveries, paid invoices, a platform contract price or Turkmen defence expenditure. The report does not allocate the country total to individual aircraft or vessels. The historical comparison rounds this value to 0.1 million euros.
This is the supplier’s calendar-year authorisation value, not deliveries, paid invoices, a platform contract price or Turkmen defence expenditure. The report does not allocate the country total to individual aircraft or vessels. The historical comparison rounds this value to 0.1 million euros.
State coverage of the independence parade identified the FK2000 air-defence system on a KDP2000 vehicle.
Details and sources
This records the public display. The report does not establish fleet quantity, procurement value or independently tested performance. It is separate from the unmanned boats shown at the same parade.
The state parade report names Point Blank systems for the National Army and ThunderB-VTOL systems for the Navy.
Details and sources
The article calls both recently received and ThunderB-VTOL a first-time parade participant. It gives no delivery day, batch quantity, contract or price. This record establishes a dated official display and an attributed receipt claim, not independently verified performance.
State parade coverage identified KATA:NA surface vessels and a mobile control post for KATA:NA PLUS.
Details and sources
This entry records public display on 27 September. No procurement price, order quantity, delivery date or independently confirmed operational deployment is established by the parade report.
A presidential decree ordered the October–December reserve discharge and next conscription cycle.
Details and sources
The decree covers eligible male citizens aged 18–27 without a deferment or exemption. It gives no conscript quota or force total. Adoption of the order is distinct from completed induction.
The president attended the opening of a complex of new buildings and facilities for military units.
Details and sources
The state report records an opening ceremony and describes service and accommodation facilities. No construction cost or wider force-expansion estimate is supplied, and none is inferred here.
A State Security Council review reported on implementation of the Armed Forces Development Programme for 2022–2028 during 2025.
Details and sources
The report discusses modernization, personnel and service conditions. It provides no independently audited spending total, platform inventory or readiness metric. This is an official programme review, not verified completion of the programme.
The official parade account identified Mi-17V-5 helicopters, C-27J Spartan transports and Su-25 aircraft in the flypast.
Details and sources
Public display supports identification of these aircraft types. The report does not establish a complete inventory, new delivery dates, aircraft availability rates or contract values.
Twenty Defence Ministry officers joined OSCE training on military information exchange and verification under the Vienna Document.
Details and sources
The seminar ran on 2–5 September with expertise from Kazakhstan. Participation in training is recorded; it is not itself evidence of a completed international inspection or full compliance assessment.
Turkmen Defence Ministry and Border Troops specialists participated in the final phase of regional EOD Level 3 training in Tajikistan.
Details and sources
The course ran from 23 June to 11 July. The source separates Turkmen and Kazakh participation from the stated 16 Tajik participants; that number is not assigned to Turkmenistan.
Border, customs, police and other law-enforcement officers completed OSCE training on illicit weapons, ammunition and explosives trafficking.
Details and sources
The course took place on 1–4 July. It is a personnel-training event and is not counted as an equipment acquisition or evidence that trafficking outcomes improved.
Turkmen specialists joined a regional seminar in Kyrgyzstan on ammunition propellant stability and safe storage.
Details and sources
The OSCE report identifies defence-ministry participants from Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Turkmenistan and Uzbekistan. The event was on 12 March; publication followed on 17 March. It does not provide a national ammunition-stockpile assessment.
Calendar reporting year; individual transfer dates are not statedEquipment & procurement
Italy declares arms exports
ReportedOfficial report
Italy declared exports to Turkmenistan in 2025: 70 rifles and carbines.
Details and sources
The return identifies annual exports to Turkmenistan, not current holdings. It does not identify the receiving agency, serviceable quantities, a contract price or individual delivery dates. Categories and models follow the declaration; none are inferred.
Turkmen defence and security agencies joined an OSCE roundtable on regional cooperation, arms control and confidence-building measures.
Details and sources
Participants included the Defence Ministry, other security agencies and OSCE representatives. The record concerns a completed policy discussion, not a new treaty or independently verified arms-control implementation.
The new complex of the Defence Ministry’s Berdymuhamed Annayev specialized military school opened in Ashgabat.
Details and sources
The state’s 2024 construction review explicitly gives 1 September as the opening date. No student capacity, construction cost or force-strength increase is inferred.
President Berdimuhamedov received Turkish Defence Minister Yaşar Güler; talks also took place with Turkmen defence officials.
Details and sources
The Foreign Ministry report dated 27 June describes the meetings of 26 June. Training and modern technologies were discussed. The report does not disclose a signed procurement contract, equipment quantity or price.
The president observed an exercise involving ground, air and naval forces together with security agencies.
Details and sources
The public report establishes the exercise and participating service types. Its claims about preparedness and successful performance are official assertions, not an independent readiness assessment.
Source review through 1 November 2026. Personnel estimates cover 1992–2020; SIPRI’s adopted-budget figures stop in 1999 and change scope with public-account classifications. No current defence-only budget is inferred from whole-state totals. US fiscal-year programmes, supplier export authorisations, declared transfers and public displays remain separate measures. Local shipyard work does not establish wholly domestic production.
Method & coverage
This is a curated public-source reference, not a complete inventory. Each record identifies an event or publication date, implementation stage and evidence type; the detail explains which date is known. An official report establishes what the issuer said; a contract does not establish delivery, and delivery does not establish readiness. Unknown quantities remain unknown. Records count publications or developments, not weapons, personnel or military strength.
Official report
The issuing institution reports the event or figure; this is not independent corroboration.
Independently corroborated
Distinct independent evidence supports the specific recorded claim.
Estimate
A sourced estimate, with its method and limits retained.
Unresolved
The available evidence does not establish the specific point.