"Hayk's Arrow" Armenian Strategic Center

Source records

A source-based profile of defence spending, procurement, forces, industry and partnerships. Open a section for short dated records, evidence and implementation status.

Last updated
Annual datasets 5
Military & paramilitary personnel · IISS 1992–2020
Coverage and method

Historical active-duty armed-forces and qualifying paramilitary personnel, excluding reservists, from IISS The Military Balance as distributed by the World Bank. The indicator combines regular and paramilitary forces and uses estimates where exact numbers are unavailable. It does not measure readiness, mobilised strength or current force capability.

Historical estimates · latest observation 2020. Regular military and qualifying paramilitary personnel are combined; reserves are excluded. No later headcount or explanation of annual changes is inferred.

People
YearValueStatus and source
202068,000Estimate · World Bank WDI / IISS · MS.MIL.TOTL.P1
201968,000Estimate · World Bank WDI / IISS · MS.MIL.TOTL.P1
201868,000Estimate · World Bank WDI / IISS · MS.MIL.TOTL.P1
201768,000Estimate · World Bank WDI / IISS · MS.MIL.TOTL.P1
201668,000Estimate · World Bank WDI / IISS · MS.MIL.TOTL.P1
201568,000Estimate · World Bank WDI / IISS · MS.MIL.TOTL.P1
201468,000Estimate · World Bank WDI / IISS · MS.MIL.TOTL.P1
201368,000Estimate · World Bank WDI / IISS · MS.MIL.TOTL.P1
201268,000Estimate · World Bank WDI / IISS · MS.MIL.TOTL.P1
201168,000Estimate · World Bank WDI / IISS · MS.MIL.TOTL.P1
201087,000Estimate · World Bank WDI / IISS · MS.MIL.TOTL.P1
200987,000Estimate · World Bank WDI / IISS · MS.MIL.TOTL.P1
200887,000Estimate · World Bank WDI / IISS · MS.MIL.TOTL.P1
200787,000Estimate · World Bank WDI / IISS · MS.MIL.TOTL.P1
200687,000Estimate · World Bank WDI / IISS · MS.MIL.TOTL.P1
200591,000Estimate · World Bank WDI / IISS · MS.MIL.TOTL.P1
200475,000Estimate · World Bank WDI / IISS · MS.MIL.TOTL.P1
200372,000Estimate · World Bank WDI / IISS · MS.MIL.TOTL.P1
200272,000Estimate · World Bank WDI / IISS · MS.MIL.TOTL.P1
200172,000Estimate · World Bank WDI / IISS · MS.MIL.TOTL.P1
200079,100Estimate · World Bank WDI / IISS · MS.MIL.TOTL.P1
199994,000Estimate · World Bank WDI / IISS · MS.MIL.TOTL.P1
1998100,000Estimate · World Bank WDI / IISS · MS.MIL.TOTL.P1
199786,000Estimate · World Bank WDI / IISS · MS.MIL.TOTL.P1
199646,000Estimate · World Bank WDI / IISS · MS.MIL.TOTL.P1
199541,700Estimate · World Bank WDI / IISS · MS.MIL.TOTL.P1
199420,000Estimate · World Bank WDI / IISS · MS.MIL.TOTL.P1
199341,000Estimate · World Bank WDI / IISS · MS.MIL.TOTL.P1
199240,000Estimate · World Bank WDI / IISS · MS.MIL.TOTL.P1
Military expenditure · share of GDP 1994–2018
Coverage and method

SIPRI’s published military-budget observations as a percentage of GDP for the same calendar year. The country is marked as adopted budgets, rather than actual expenditure.

Historical adopted-budget observations with gaps, not verified execution. The isolated 2018 cell is highly uncertain and conflicts with SIPRI’s note that information stops in 2003. No current spending trend is inferred.

%
YearValueStatus and source
20182.49%Highly uncertain estimate · SIPRI Military Expenditure Database · Share of GDP · BT129
Notes and conversion

Published cell BT129; fraction multiplied by 100. Uzbekistan carries the adopted-budget marker. 2018 is an isolated observation; source footnote 54 still says no information since 2003.

20030.43%Estimate · SIPRI Military Expenditure Database · Share of GDP · BE129
Notes and conversion

Published cell BE129; fraction multiplied by 100. Uzbekistan carries the adopted-budget marker. No missing-year interpolation.

20020.48%Estimate · SIPRI Military Expenditure Database · Share of GDP · BD129
Notes and conversion

Published cell BD129; fraction multiplied by 100. Uzbekistan carries the adopted-budget marker. No missing-year interpolation.

20010.67%Estimate · SIPRI Military Expenditure Database · Share of GDP · BC129
Notes and conversion

Published cell BC129; fraction multiplied by 100. Uzbekistan carries the adopted-budget marker. No missing-year interpolation.

20000.92%Estimate · SIPRI Military Expenditure Database · Share of GDP · BB129
Notes and conversion

Published cell BB129; fraction multiplied by 100. Uzbekistan carries the adopted-budget marker. No missing-year interpolation.

19991.31%Estimate · SIPRI Military Expenditure Database · Share of GDP · BA129
Notes and conversion

Published cell BA129; fraction multiplied by 100. Uzbekistan carries the adopted-budget marker. No missing-year interpolation.

19971.12%Highly uncertain estimate · SIPRI Military Expenditure Database · Share of GDP · AY129
Notes and conversion

Published cell AY129; fraction multiplied by 100. Uzbekistan carries the adopted-budget marker. No missing-year interpolation.

19960.98%Highly uncertain estimate · SIPRI Military Expenditure Database · Share of GDP · AX129
Notes and conversion

Published cell AX129; fraction multiplied by 100. Uzbekistan carries the adopted-budget marker. No missing-year interpolation.

19950.88%Highly uncertain estimate · SIPRI Military Expenditure Database · Share of GDP · AW129
Notes and conversion

Published cell AW129; fraction multiplied by 100. Uzbekistan carries the adopted-budget marker. No missing-year interpolation.

19941.53%Highly uncertain estimate · SIPRI Military Expenditure Database · Share of GDP · AV129
Notes and conversion

Published cell AV129; fraction multiplied by 100. Uzbekistan carries the adopted-budget marker. No missing-year interpolation.

Military expenditure · share of government spending 1994–2018
Coverage and method

SIPRI’s military-budget observations divided by general government expenditure for the financial year, shown as percentages. These are adopted-budget observations, not verified spending outturns.

Historical adopted-budget observations with gaps, not verified execution. The isolated 2018 cell is highly uncertain and conflicts with SIPRI’s note that information stops in 2003. No current spending trend is inferred.

%
YearValueStatus and source
201811.06%Highly uncertain estimate · SIPRI Military Expenditure Database · Share of Govt. spending · AH131
Notes and conversion

Published cell AH131; fraction multiplied by 100. Uzbekistan carries the adopted-budget marker. 2018 is an isolated observation; source footnote 54 still says no information since 2003.

20031.36%Estimate · SIPRI Military Expenditure Database · Share of Govt. spending · S131
Notes and conversion

Published cell S131; fraction multiplied by 100. Uzbekistan carries the adopted-budget marker. No missing-year interpolation.

20021.38%Estimate · SIPRI Military Expenditure Database · Share of Govt. spending · R131
Notes and conversion

Published cell R131; fraction multiplied by 100. Uzbekistan carries the adopted-budget marker. No missing-year interpolation.

20012.18%Estimate · SIPRI Military Expenditure Database · Share of Govt. spending · Q131
Notes and conversion

Published cell Q131; fraction multiplied by 100. Uzbekistan carries the adopted-budget marker. No missing-year interpolation.

20002.8%Estimate · SIPRI Military Expenditure Database · Share of Govt. spending · P131
Notes and conversion

Published cell P131; fraction multiplied by 100. Uzbekistan carries the adopted-budget marker. No missing-year interpolation.

19993.88%Estimate · SIPRI Military Expenditure Database · Share of Govt. spending · O131
Notes and conversion

Published cell O131; fraction multiplied by 100. Uzbekistan carries the adopted-budget marker. No missing-year interpolation.

19973.51%Highly uncertain estimate · SIPRI Military Expenditure Database · Share of Govt. spending · M131
Notes and conversion

Published cell M131; fraction multiplied by 100. Uzbekistan carries the adopted-budget marker. No missing-year interpolation.

19962.81%Highly uncertain estimate · SIPRI Military Expenditure Database · Share of Govt. spending · L131
Notes and conversion

Published cell L131; fraction multiplied by 100. Uzbekistan carries the adopted-budget marker. No missing-year interpolation.

19953.01%Highly uncertain estimate · SIPRI Military Expenditure Database · Share of Govt. spending · K131
Notes and conversion

Published cell K131; fraction multiplied by 100. Uzbekistan carries the adopted-budget marker. No missing-year interpolation.

19944.5%Highly uncertain estimate · SIPRI Military Expenditure Database · Share of Govt. spending · J131
Notes and conversion

Published cell J131; fraction multiplied by 100. Uzbekistan carries the adopted-budget marker. No missing-year interpolation.

US-funded sales cases · FMF · US fiscal years 2020–2024
Coverage and method

DSCA-authorised net value of implemented FMF cases and amendments for Uzbekistan, in the U.S. financial year (1 October of the preceding calendar year to 30 September). FMF-funded cases are financed by U.S. government assistance and remain separate from partner-financed FMS. These are case implementation values, not physical deliveries, cash outlays or Uzbekistan military expenditure. DSCA FY2024 Historical Sales Book, primary report mirrored by SIPRI. Explicit published zeros are retained. Latest verified comparable breakdown: FY2020–FY2024; no later year is inferred. Pre-FY2023 report aggregates can include BPC/FAA and are not spliced into this series.

US-funded implemented case values, not physical deliveries, cash outlays or national defence spending. US fiscal years end in September. Baseline dots show published zeros; later years remain unavailable.

USD · current prices
YearValueStatus and source
2024$761.81 KReported · DSCA · Historical Sales Book FY2024 · Uzbekistan · FMF · SIPRI primary-report mirror · p. 20
Notes and conversion

Original FMF row: USD 761,818; U.S. FY2024 (2023-10-01–2024-09-30). PDF page20 / printed page18; the column is the year measured, not the report publication year.

2023$0Reported · DSCA · Historical Sales Book FY2024 · Uzbekistan · FMF · SIPRI primary-report mirror · p. 20
Notes and conversion

Original FMF row: USD 0; U.S. FY2023 (2022-10-01–2023-09-30). PDF page20 / printed page18; the column is the year measured, not the report publication year.

2022$0Reported · DSCA · Historical Sales Book FY2024 · Uzbekistan · FMF · SIPRI primary-report mirror · p. 20
Notes and conversion

Original FMF row: USD 0; U.S. FY2022 (2021-10-01–2022-09-30). PDF page20 / printed page18; the column is the year measured, not the report publication year.

2021$13.81 MnReported · DSCA · Historical Sales Book FY2024 · Uzbekistan · FMF · SIPRI primary-report mirror · p. 20
Notes and conversion

Original FMF row: USD 13,816,005; U.S. FY2021 (2020-10-01–2021-09-30). PDF page20 / printed page18; the column is the year measured, not the report publication year.

2020$0Reported · DSCA · Historical Sales Book FY2024 · Uzbekistan · FMF · SIPRI primary-report mirror · p. 20
Notes and conversion

Original FMF row: USD 0; U.S. FY2020 (2019-10-01–2020-09-30). PDF page20 / printed page18; the column is the year measured, not the report publication year.

Partner-funded sales cases · FMS · US fiscal years 2020–2024
Coverage and method

DSCA-authorised net value of implemented FMS cases and amendments for Uzbekistan, in the U.S. financial year (1 October of the preceding calendar year to 30 September). FMS is partner-financed; this row excludes the separately reported FMF-funded cases. These are case implementation values, not physical deliveries, cash outlays or Uzbekistan military expenditure. DSCA FY2024 Historical Sales Book, primary report mirrored by SIPRI. Explicit published zeros are retained. Latest verified comparable breakdown: FY2020–FY2024; no later year is inferred. Pre-FY2023 report aggregates can include BPC/FAA and are not spliced into this series.

Partner-funded implemented case values, not physical deliveries, cash outlays or national defence spending. US fiscal years end in September. Baseline dots show published zeros; later years remain unavailable.

USD · current prices
YearValueStatus and source
2024$0Reported · DSCA · Historical Sales Book FY2024 · Uzbekistan · FMS · SIPRI primary-report mirror · p. 20
Notes and conversion

Original FMS row: USD 0; U.S. FY2024 (2023-10-01–2024-09-30). PDF page20 / printed page18; the column is the year measured, not the report publication year.

2023$0Reported · DSCA · Historical Sales Book FY2024 · Uzbekistan · FMS · SIPRI primary-report mirror · p. 20
Notes and conversion

Original FMS row: USD 0; U.S. FY2023 (2022-10-01–2023-09-30). PDF page20 / printed page18; the column is the year measured, not the report publication year.

2022$400 KReported · DSCA · Historical Sales Book FY2024 · Uzbekistan · FMS · SIPRI primary-report mirror · p. 20
Notes and conversion

Original FMS row: USD 400,002; U.S. FY2022 (2021-10-01–2022-09-30). PDF page20 / printed page18; the column is the year measured, not the report publication year.

2021$0Reported · DSCA · Historical Sales Book FY2024 · Uzbekistan · FMS · SIPRI primary-report mirror · p. 20
Notes and conversion

Original FMS row: USD 0; U.S. FY2021 (2020-10-01–2021-09-30). PDF page20 / printed page18; the column is the year measured, not the report publication year.

2020$0Reported · DSCA · Historical Sales Book FY2024 · Uzbekistan · FMS · SIPRI primary-report mirror · p. 20
Notes and conversion

Original FMS row: USD 0; U.S. FY2020 (2019-10-01–2020-09-30). PDF page20 / printed page18; the column is the year measured, not the report publication year.

Filters

Showing 20 of 134 records

124 development records · 10 annual statistical points

Forces & reform

Regional border-security course completed

Completion reportedOfficial report

OSCE reports a five-day course for border and customs personnel at Uzbekistan’s National Canine Centre.

Details and sources

Fifteen officers from five Central Asian countries participated on 5–9 October. This is border-service training, not an army personnel total.

Equipment & procurement

First C-390 delivered

Delivery reportedOfficial report

Embraer reported handing over Uzbekistan’s first C-390 at Gavião Peixoto in Brazil.

Details and sources

The ceremony marks manufacturer handover. The release says the late-2024 contract includes training, support and spares; it does not establish operational readiness in Uzbekistan.

Forces & reform

Air-defence and aviation reform proposals

AnnouncedOfficial report

A presidential review considered air-border protection, aviation-unit reorganisation and training facilities in Karshi.

Details and sources

The government describes proposals and ongoing reforms, including simulators. It does not identify a new aircraft-delivery count.

Forces & reform

Army digitalisation measures approved

ApprovedOfficial report

The president approved measures for military digitalisation, personnel training and artificial-intelligence capabilities.

Details and sources

New digital-administration and satellite-communications structures are described as plans. The source separately reports an existing information-security monitoring centre.

Defence partnerships

Seventh DUSTLIK exercise opens

ReportedOfficial report

Uzbekistan’s MoD reported the opening of DUSTLIK-2026 with Indian forces at Gurumsaray.

Details and sources

The Uzbek opening report is used for this date. Advance Indian and Uzbek notices give different scheduled end dates; neither is treated here as a verified completion date.

Defence partnerships

Defence roadmap with Pakistan exchanged

SignedOfficial report

The presidency lists a defence-ministry roadmap in the package exchanged in Islamabad.

Details and sources

The release identifies the framework but does not disclose its full text, procurement quantities or implementation timetable.

Customer-disclosure dateEquipment & procurement

C-390 customer officially identified

ContractedOfficial report

Embraer identified Uzbekistan as the previously undisclosed C-390 customer.

Details and sources

This is the customer-disclosure date, not the contract date. A later delivery release dates signing to late 2024; no precise signing day is established.

Defence partnerships

Military-medicine cooperation with Türkiye

SignedOfficial report

A bilateral agreement package included cooperation in health, education and military medicine.

Details and sources

Signed during the Strategic Cooperation Council visit. The announcement does not identify a completed medical facility or equipment transfer.

Defence partnerships

Uzbekistan–Türkiye 4+4 action plan

SignedOfficial report

The two governments reported signing an updated action plan for foreign-policy, defence, interior and intelligence cooperation.

Details and sources

The joint statement was published on 21 January and dates the Ankara meetings to 20 January. It does not disclose procurement quantities.

· Published

Defence industry

Aircraft maintenance and modernisation inspected

ReportedOfficial report

The presidency described Airbus helicopter servicing and Su-25 repair and modernisation at the Chirchik aircraft plant.

Details and sources

This is the inspection date, not the centre’s proven opening date. Manufacturer certification is reported by the presidency; no annual repair quantity is provided.

Defence industry

Chirchik production activity reported

Production reportedOfficial report

The presidency reports armoured equipment and remote weapon-module production at Chirchik’s technology park.

Details and sources

The report describes a presidential inspection and industrial cooperation; it gives no verified annual output or delivery quantity.

Forces & reform

Military-service and pay reforms announced

AnnouncedOfficial report

The president announced vocational training for conscripts, officer-bonus changes and a 10% pay rise for contract enlisted personnel.

Details and sources

Pay changes were scheduled from 1 April. The meeting also called for revising the Defence Doctrine; a directive is not recorded as an adopted replacement.

Equipment & procurement

Flexrotor unmanned-system contract

ContractedOfficial report

Airbus announced a Flexrotor contract with Uztechtrade for Uzbekistan. The number of systems was not disclosed.

Details and sources

The announcement records a contract and intended crewed–uncrewed cooperation. It does not confirm delivery or a contract value.

Defence partnerships

Joint-exercise agreement with Kazakhstan

SignedOfficial report

The two countries signed an agreement on conducting joint military exercises during the presidential visit.

Details and sources

The foreign ministry lists the signed instrument; a new exercise schedule is not specified.

Defence partnerships

Birlik 2025 regional exercise

ReportedOfficial report

Uzbekistan hosted units from Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan and Azerbaijan in the continuing regional exercise.

Details and sources

This is the date of the official progress report; no unverified opening or closing date is assigned.

Defence partnerships

Regional military-science cooperation memorandum

SignedOfficial report

Uzbekistan and four participating countries signed a cooperation memorandum during a Birlik 2025 military-scientific meeting.

Details and sources

The reported subjects include general-staff and military-academic cooperation, with no specified equipment order.

Defence industry

State Defence Order Law adopted

AdoptedOfficial report

Law ORQ-1087 regulates the formation, approval, financing and execution of state defence orders.

Details and sources

LexUZ records entry into force on 7 January 2026. This law is not a published list of procurement contracts.

· Published

Event date reported in a later official briefDefence partnerships

Fifth India–Uzbekistan defence working group

Completion reportedOfficial report

The fifth joint working group on defence cooperation met in New Delhi.

Details and sources

The event date is recorded retrospectively in India’s January 2026 bilateral brief. The brief does not establish a weapons purchase arising from the meeting.

· Published

Forces & reform

Military-education reorganisation approved

ApprovedOfficial report

The president approved proposals to create a Military Security and Defence University integrating military education institutions.

Details and sources

The release records approval and instructions for implementation on 29 July 2025. It does not establish that the university and every planned institutional change were already operational that day.

Defence partnerships

Hamkorlik 2025 opens with Russia

ReportedOfficial report

Uzbekistan’s ministry reported the opening in Termez, with about 400 personnel across both sides.

Details and sources

Russia participated with its own equipment. Exercise presence does not establish transfer of that equipment to Uzbekistan.

Scope

Expanded public-source history of legal foundations, forces, declared equipment transfers, industry and defence partnerships. Personnel estimates combine active military and qualifying paramilitary forces and stop in 2020. National budget laws checked for 2017–2026 do not identify a comparable standalone defence total. A 2018 regional fund is one-off financing, not the annual defence budget. SIPRI’s historical observations and US-funded or partner-funded sales cases remain separate measures. Official claims, intended purchases, contracts, displays and deliveries are distinguished. This is not a complete force inventory.

Method & coverage

This is a curated public-source reference, not a complete inventory. Each record identifies an event or publication date, implementation stage and evidence type; the detail explains which date is known. An official report establishes what the issuer said; a contract does not establish delivery, and delivery does not establish readiness. Unknown quantities remain unknown. Records count publications or developments, not weapons, personnel or military strength.

Official report
The issuing institution reports the event or figure; this is not independent corroboration.
Independently corroborated
Distinct independent evidence supports the specific recorded claim.
Estimate
A sourced estimate, with its method and limits retained.
Unresolved
The available evidence does not establish the specific point.

SIPRI · Annual spending · SIPRI · Equipment & procurement

← Back to country overview