Population
These figures count different groups and years. They should not be added.
Community estimate
>60kYear not stated
Official census
22.5kPopulation period:
Official census: Residents of Armenian descent
Australia · Community estimate: Community sources
Published population figure: More than 60,000
- Population reference period
- Year not stated
- Source published
- 4 May 2026
- Latest source check
ANC Australia statement, 4 May 2026
- What the figure measures
- Armenian-Australian community estimate asserted by ANC Australia. The card preserves “more than”; 60,000 is only the reference floor used in the sum.
Australia · Official census: Official sources
Published population figure: 22,520
- Population reference period
- 2021
- Source published
- Not stated
- Latest source check
2021 census; DFAT page publication date not stated
- What the figure measures
- Australian residents of Armenian descent in the 2021 census, reported by DFAT. Descent is distinct from citizenship and Armenia-born residents.
Data limitation: DFAT separately reports 22,520 residents of Armenian descent in the 2021 census. ANC-AU does not disclose its counting method. The Office’s undated “up to 60,000” and older ANC-AU 50,000 statements differ from the May 2026 assertion; no measured one-year growth can be inferred.
Australia: Country sources
Institution sources are listed with their entries.
- Main locations
- Sydney; Melbourne
The selected institutions include advocacy, settlement support, bilingual day schools, supplementary classes, churches and Armenian-language media.