"Hayk's Arrow" Armenian Strategic Center

Brazil

São Paulo; Osasco; historical settlement also in Santos and Rio de Janeiro

Choose a country

Population

These figures count different groups and years. They should not be added.

Community estimate

≈40k

Year not stated

Estimates differ

Official figure

—

Comparable official figure not verified

Brazil · Community estimate: Community sources

Published population figure: About 40,000; published estimates differ

Population reference period
Year not stated
Source published
20 March 2025
Latest source check

Armenia foreign minister’s speech, 20 March 2025

What the figure measures
Armenian-Brazilian community estimate stated by Armenia’s foreign minister. This is the selected reference, not a census total.
Brazil · Official figure: Official sources

Published population figure: Not verified

Population reference period
Year not stated
Source published
Not stated
Latest source check

Comparable reference period not verified

What the figure measures
A comparable host-country official Armenian-origin population figure has not been verified in this review. This does not mean no official data exists.

Data limitation: A São Paulo legislature report dated 27 April 2026 gives about 100,000 nationwide; the Diaspora Office gives 50,000 without a year. The sources disclose no common counting method. Their disagreement remains unresolved: the 40,000 reference is retained and the alternatives are not averaged into a statistical range.

Brazil: Country sources

Institution sources are listed with their entries.

Main locations
São Paulo; Osasco; historical settlement also in Santos and Rio de Janeiro

Community institutions include benevolent organisations, an Armenian school, Apostolic and Catholic churches and Portuguese-language media.

Community institutions

Brazil: Coverage and source notes

The sample is concentrated in São Paulo and Osasco and is not a complete national map. The newer 2025 official population estimate is preferred without treating conflicting older figures as a range. School provision, general media and the diocesan bulletin are distinguished; undated pages do not verify present enrolment or service availability.

Directory sources checked:

This is a selected guide, not a complete inventory or a ranking of influence. A direct source documents what an institution publishes about itself; it does not independently verify every claim or establish uninterrupted operation. Directory listings and historical records carry their stated limits. Dates identify the publication, documented activity or report reference period, as described in the entry. Missing source dates are shown explicitly. Inclusion does not imply partnership or endorsement.

Armenian organizations 2

Organizations2

UGAB Brasil (AGBU Brazil)

São Paulo, Pinheiros

Direct source

Brazil · UGAB Brasil (AGBU Brazil): About and sources

Brazilian branch of the Armenian General Benevolent Union; its own profile describes cultural, educational and social-assistance work and its São Paulo centre.

Source date not stated

Source available · activity undated

Evidence check and limits

The checked institutional page was readable. No attributable 2024–2026 activity date was verified on that page; this does not establish inactivity.

Directory sources checked:

Sources

Fundo Armênia Brasil

São Paulo

Direct source

Brazil · Fundo Armênia Brasil: About and sources

Brazilian fundraising and project organisation linked to the Hayastan All-Armenian Fund network; its website presents projects and organisational reports.

Source date not stated

Source available · activity undated

Evidence check and limits

The checked institutional page was readable. No attributable 2024–2026 activity date was verified on that page; this does not establish inactivity.

Directory sources checked:

Sources

Schools and Armenian-language learning 1

Education1

Externato José Bonifácio (Azgayin Turian School)

São Paulo

Direct source

Brazil · Externato José Bonifácio (Azgayin Turian School): About and sources

General school whose own education page describes a trilingual Portuguese, Armenian and English programme. Its undated page does not establish current enrolment.

Source date not stated

Source available · activity undated

Evidence check and limits

The checked institutional page was readable. No attributable 2024–2026 activity date was verified on that page; this does not establish inactivity.

Directory sources checked:

Sources

Churches and religious institutions 2

Churches2

Armenian Apostolic Diocese of Brazil

São Paulo; Osasco

Direct source

Brazil · Armenian Apostolic Diocese of Brazil: About and sources

Armenian Apostolic jurisdiction named by the Mother See; its own diocesan website identifies a cathedral in São Paulo and a parish in Osasco.

Source published:

Dated activity evidence ·

The diocese’s own site publishes a weekly bulletin dated 25 October 2026. This establishes publication, not a verified service schedule. Activity source

Evidence check and limits

This dated source supports the specific reported activity or announcement. It does not certify continuous operation or current visiting arrangements.

Directory sources checked:

Sources

São Gregório Iluminador Armenian Catholic Parish

São Paulo, Luz

Direct source

Brazil · São Gregório Iluminador Armenian Catholic Parish: About and sources

Armenian Catholic parish with its own history, pastoral information and archived service broadcasts, including October 2026 records.

Date / reference period:

Sources

Media and community publications 2

Media2

Estação Armênia

Brazil; online

Direct source

Brazil · Estação Armênia: About and sources

Portuguese-language Armenian community news and commentary portal, with culture, interviews, podcasts and a community guide.

Date / reference period:

Sources

Informativo Semanal — diocesan bulletin

São Paulo; online

Direct source

Brazil · Informativo Semanal — diocesan bulletin: About and sources

Institutional bulletin of the Armenian Apostolic diocese; its own archive includes an issue dated 25 October 2026. It is distinct from a general news outlet.

Date / reference period:

Sources

Community issues and evidence gaps

Issues2

Issues are attributed to the cited evidence and retain the source date. Research gaps identify questions that the available evidence does not settle; they are not findings that a service or activity is absent.

Evidence on language learning and participation

The school’s trilingual programme and UGAB’s local education work document provision. This review did not verify national enrolment, adult language use or participation by generation; programme descriptions alone do not measure community-wide continuity.

Research gapSource date not stated

Sources
Brazil: Topics for further observation

These are proposed research topics, not findings about the community.

  • Reconcile older estimates before comparing totals.
  • Extend institutional and language-learning coverage beyond São Paulo.
Brazil: How to read the figures

A census count, an ancestry response and a community estimate measure different populations. Dates and definitions remain attached to each figure. The covered-country sum uses selected reference values, range midpoints and stated boundaries for “more than” or “up to”; it is not a synchronized population count or a statistical confidence interval. Undated and historical estimates are not current resident counts. The independently published worldwide estimate must not be added to the country sum.