"Hayk's Arrow" Armenian Strategic Center

Bulgaria

Plovdiv; Sofia; Varna; Burgas

Choose a country

Population

These figures count different groups and years. They should not be added.

Community estimate

≈30k

Year not stated

Official census

5.31k

Population period:

Official census: Self-declared Armenian ethnicity

Bulgaria · Community estimate: Community sources

Published population figure: About 30,000

Population reference period
Year not stated
Source published
Not stated
Latest source check

Estimate year not stated; source checked 1 November 2026

What the figure measures
Broad Armenian community estimate in the Diaspora Office country profile; the counting method is not stated.
Bulgaria · Official census: Official sources

Published population figure: 5,306

Population reference period
7 September 2021
Source published
Not stated
Latest source check

2021 census; reference 7 September 2021

What the figure measures
People self-identifying with Armenian ethnicity in NSI’s census. This is distinct from citizenship, mother tongue and Armenian Apostolic religion.

Data limitation: The 2021 census separately records 5,306 people identifying with Armenian ethnicity. That differs from broad community estimates and from Armenian Apostolic religious affiliation; the figures must not be added.

Bulgaria: Country sources

Institution sources are listed with their entries.

Main locations
Plovdiv; Sofia; Varna; Burgas

The initial directory records AGBU Plovdiv through its own institutional site; it is a starting sample of Bulgaria’s Armenian institutions.

Community institutions

Bulgaria: Coverage and source notes

A small selected directory, not a complete inventory. Direct institutional sources document identity and stated role; they do not independently audit present services, membership or enrolment. Population and institutional dates are separate.

Directory sources checked:

This is a selected guide, not a complete inventory or a ranking of influence. A direct source documents what an institution publishes about itself; it does not independently verify every claim or establish uninterrupted operation. Directory listings and historical records carry their stated limits. Dates identify the publication, documented activity or report reference period, as described in the entry. Missing source dates are shown explicitly. Inclusion does not imply partnership or endorsement.

Armenian organizations 1

Organizations1

AGBU Plovdiv

Plovdiv

Direct source

Bulgaria · AGBU Plovdiv: About and sources

AGBU chapter whose own site describes cultural, educational and charitable work; programme availability is not independently audited.

Source date not stated

Sources

Schools and Armenian-language learning 0

Education0

No sourced records have been added in this category yet.

Churches and religious institutions 0

Churches0

No sourced records have been added in this category yet.

Media and community publications 0

Media0

No sourced records have been added in this category yet.

Bulgaria: Topics for further observation

These are proposed research topics, not findings about the community.

  • Verify population reference dates and distinguish community estimates from census identity, citizenship and birthplace.
  • Expand the institution sample through dated first-party evidence, including language education and local cultural activity.
Bulgaria: How to read the figures

A census count, an ancestry response and a community estimate measure different populations. Dates and definitions remain attached to each figure. The covered-country sum uses selected reference values, range midpoints and stated boundaries for “more than” or “up to”; it is not a synchronized population count or a statistical confidence interval. Undated and historical estimates are not current resident counts. The independently published worldwide estimate must not be added to the country sum.