"Hayk's Arrow" Armenian Strategic Center

Canada

Montréal; Toronto

Choose a country

Population

These figures count different groups and years. They should not be added.

Community estimate

≈70k

Year not stated

Official census

68.9k

Population period:

Official census: Armenian origin · single or multiple responses

Canada · Community estimate: Community sources

Published population figure: About 70,000

Population reference period
Year not stated
Source published
21 September 2024
Latest source check

Canadian government statement, 21 September 2024; underlying reference year unstated

What the figure measures
Almost 70,000 Canadians of Armenian descent in the Canadian Prime Minister’s 2024 statement.
Canada · Official census: Official sources

Published population figure: 68,855

Population reference period
2021
Source published
26 October 2022
Latest source check

2021 census; table released 26 October 2022

What the figure measures
Armenian ethnic/cultural origin, single or multiple responses, among people in private households. Weighted 25% census sample data; not citizenship or birthplace.

Data limitation: The 2021 census origin total is 68,855 (single or multiple Armenian origin; people in private households, 25% sample). A May 2026 Prime Minister’s readout says more than 60,000; the Diaspora Office’s undated estimate is about 90,000. No new measured total resolving these different references was verified.

Canada: Country sources

Institution sources are listed with their entries.

Main locations
Montréal; Toronto

The observatory follows community institutions and Armenian-language education in both French- and English-speaking settings.

Community institutions

Canada: Coverage and source notes

Initial coverage emphasizes Montréal and Toronto. Québec and Ontario schools have different curricula and funding arrangements. Day schools, Apostolic jurisdictions, Catholic structures and institutional publications are distinguished.

Directory sources checked:

This is a selected guide, not a complete inventory or a ranking of influence. A direct source documents what an institution publishes about itself; it does not independently verify every claim or establish uninterrupted operation. Directory listings and historical records carry their stated limits. Dates identify the publication, documented activity or report reference period, as described in the entry. Missing source dates are shown explicitly. Inclusion does not imply partnership or endorsement.

Armenian organizations 3

Organizations3

Armenian National Committee of Canada (ANCC)

Ottawa; national chapter network

Direct source

Canada · Armenian National Committee of Canada (ANCC): About and sources

Advocacy organization connecting community concerns with elected representatives and public-interest campaigns. Its stated positions are organizational views.

Source published:

Dated activity evidence ·

ANCC reports holding its annual general meeting in Kingston, Ontario. Activity source

Evidence check and limits

This source supports the stated activity or announcement in the stated reference period. It does not certify continuous operation or current visiting arrangements.

Directory sources checked:

Sources

AGBU Montreal Chapter

Montréal, Québec

Directory listing

Canada · AGBU Montreal Chapter: About and sources

AGBU’s own directory lists the Montreal chapter and Alex Manoogian community centre. Current programmes require checking with the local organizer.

Source date not stated

Listing only · current services unverified

Evidence check and limits

The checked source provides a directory record. A listing alone does not confirm current services, classes or opening arrangements.

Directory sources checked:

Sources

Armenian Community Centre of Toronto

Toronto, Ontario

Direct source

Canada · Armenian Community Centre of Toronto: About and sources

Community centre with cultural, social, educational and youth institutions at its Hallcrown Place sites.

Source date not stated

Dated activity evidence ·

The centre’s own history records acquiring an institutional facility at 211 Consumers Road in 2026. The page’s publication date is not established. Activity source

Evidence check and limits

This source supports the stated activity or announcement in the stated reference period. It does not certify continuous operation or current visiting arrangements.

Directory sources checked:

Sources

Schools and Armenian-language learning 3

Education3

A.R.S. Armenian Private School

Toronto, Ontario

Direct source

Canada · A.R.S. Armenian Private School: About and sources

Full-time trilingual, bicultural day school from preschool through grade 12, combining Ontario curriculum with Armenian language and cultural studies.

Source date not stated

Dated activity evidence ·

The school’s own homepage advertises a 2026 telethon. This confirms a dated fundraising appeal, not the amount raised or current enrolment. Activity source

Evidence check and limits

This source supports the stated activity or announcement in the stated reference period. It does not certify continuous operation or current visiting arrangements.

Directory sources checked:

Sources

École Alex Manoogian

Montréal, Québec

Direct source

Canada · École Alex Manoogian: About and sources

Full-time private school listed by AGBU and Québec’s private-school federation, with French general education and Armenian language and heritage instruction.

Source published:

Dated activity evidence ·

The school’s report dated 13 October 2026 describes a grandparents’ breakfast. The report date is not independently established as the event date. Activity source

Evidence check and limits

This source supports the stated activity or announcement in the stated reference period. It does not certify continuous operation or current visiting arrangements.

Directory sources checked:

Sources

Churches and religious institutions 3

Churches3

Armenian Diocese of Canada

Montréal; parishes across Canada

Direct source

Canada · Armenian Diocese of Canada: About and sources

Armenian Apostolic diocese linked to the Mother See of Holy Etchmiadzin, with parish, cultural and youth ministries.

Date / reference period:

Sources

Armenian Prelacy of Canada

Montréal; parishes across Canada

Direct source

Canada · Armenian Prelacy of Canada: About and sources

Armenian Apostolic jurisdiction of the Holy See of Cilicia, distinct from the Canadian Diocese of Holy Etchmiadzin.

Source published:

Dated activity evidence ·

The Prelacy publishes a one-day youth-congress programme for 19 September 2026. The announcement establishes scheduled activity, not attendance or completion. Activity source

Evidence check and limits

This source supports the stated activity or announcement in the stated reference period. It does not certify continuous operation or current visiting arrangements.

Directory sources checked:

Sources

Armenian Catholic Eparchy of Our Lady of Nareg

Canada and United States; office in Glendale

Direct source

Canada · Armenian Catholic Eparchy of Our Lady of Nareg: About and sources

Armenian Catholic jurisdiction for Canada and the United States, documented in the Canadian Catholic bishops’ directory and its own administrative notice.

Source published:

Dated activity evidence ·

The shared Canada–US eparchy publishes an appointment notice for its vicar-general and finance officer. This is an administrative record, not a local parish-service schedule. Activity source

Evidence check and limits

This source supports the stated activity or announcement in the stated reference period. It does not certify continuous operation or current visiting arrangements.

Directory sources checked:

Sources

Media and community publications 3

Media3

Horizon Weekly

Montréal; online

Direct source

Canada · Horizon Weekly: About and sources

Community newspaper whose own profile identifies it as the official publication of Canada’s ARF Central Committee.

Source published:

Dated activity evidence ·

The publisher’s own site carries a dated article, establishing publishing activity on the stated date. Activity source

Evidence check and limits

This source supports the stated activity or announcement in the stated reference period. It does not certify continuous operation or current visiting arrangements.

Directory sources checked:

Sources

Torontohye

Toronto; southern Ontario; online

Direct source

Canada · Torontohye: About and sources

Armenian- and English-language community newspaper, published by Torontohye Communications Inc., focusing on original local reporting.

Source date not stated

Dated activity evidence ·

The publisher’s homepage lists its November 2026 issue, number 231, dated 1 November 2026. Activity source

Evidence check and limits

This source supports the stated activity or announcement in the stated reference period. It does not certify continuous operation or current visiting arrangements.

Directory sources checked:

Sources

Lousavorich and Louys

Montréal; online

Direct source

Canada · Lousavorich and Louys: About and sources

Institutional publications offered by the Armenian Prelacy of Canada; religious and community material, rather than independent news outlets.

Source date not stated

Source available · activity undated

Evidence check and limits

The official publication archive is readable, but the checked links predominantly reference older issues. Its 2026 technical modification date is not a verified issue-publication date.

Directory sources checked:

Sources

Community issues and evidence gaps

Issues3

Issues are attributed to the cited evidence and retain the source date. Research gaps identify questions that the available evidence does not settle; they are not findings that a service or activity is absent.

Community funding of day-school education

A.R.S. school says it relies on tuition, its annual telethon and donations. This documents its funding model and a continuing support need; it does not establish a deficit or the finances of other Canadian schools.

Reported issueSource date not stated

Sources

Supplementary and regional coverage

This selection emphasizes Montréal and Toronto. It does not yet compare weekend teaching, regional access, tuition or enrolment across provinces; local institutional lists are not a national school census.

Research gapSource date not stated

Sources
Canada: Topics for further observation

These are proposed research topics, not findings about the community.

  • Keep single and multiple cultural-origin responses distinct from citizenship.
  • Map language learning, youth participation and cooperation with Armenia.
Canada: How to read the figures

A census count, an ancestry response and a community estimate measure different populations. Dates and definitions remain attached to each figure. The covered-country sum uses selected reference values, range midpoints and stated boundaries for “more than” or “up to”; it is not a synchronized population count or a statistical confidence interval. Undated and historical estimates are not current resident counts. The independently published worldwide estimate must not be added to the country sum.