Population
These figures count different groups and years. They should not be added.
Community estimate
≈5kYear not stated
Official figure
—Comparable official figure not verified
Egypt · Community estimate: Community sources
Published population figure: About 5,000
- Population reference period
- Year not stated
- Source published
- Not stated
- Latest source check
Population reference year and publication date not stated
- What the figure measures
- Broad Armenian community estimate published by Armenia’s Office of the High Commissioner for Diaspora Affairs; no counting method is supplied.
Egypt · Official figure: Official sources
Published population figure: Comparable official figure not verified
- Population reference period
- Year not stated
- Source published
- Not stated
- Latest source check
Comparable reference period not verified
- What the figure measures
- This review did not verify a comparable host-country official Armenian-origin or ethnic-group total. Citizenship and birthplace counts are not substitutes for the full community; this does not establish that official data are absent.
Data limitation: The Office gives about 5,000. The Armenian embassy’s undated English and Armenian pages give about 8,000 and 6,000 respectively. No reference years or common method establish comparability.
Egypt: Country sources
Institution sources are listed with their entries.
- Main locations
- Cairo, including Heliopolis; Alexandria
The documented institutions include churches, schools, AGBU and Homenetmen, alongside a longstanding Armenian press. This selection covers Cairo and Alexandria.