Population
These figures count different groups and years. They should not be added.
Community estimate
>200kYear not stated
Official census
169kPopulation period:
Official census: Armenian ethnicity · excludes occupied territories
Georgia · Community estimate: Community sources
Published population figure: More than 200,000
- Population reference period
- Year not stated
- Source published
- Not stated
- Latest source check
Estimate year not stated; source checked 1 November 2026
- What the figure measures
- The Diaspora Office’s broad community estimate. Its stated 200,000 boundary is used for sorting and the community-reference sum, not as an exact count.
Georgia · Official census: Official sources
Published population figure: 169,296
- Population reference period
- 2024
- Source published
- 22 June 2026
- Latest source check
2024 census; reference 14 November 2024; released 22 June 2026
- What the figure measures
- Residents recorded as Armenian in the census national/ethnic composition. Census coverage excludes occupied territories; ethnicity is distinct from language, religion and citizenship.
Data limitation: The Office also mentions an unofficial 400,000, without a year or method. Geostat’s 169,296 appears separately as the 2024 census ethnicity count, excluding occupied territories. The definitions, dates and coverage differ; the community estimate and census count must not be added.
Georgia: Country sources
Institution sources are listed with their entries.
- Main locations
- Tbilisi; Samtskhe-Javakheti; Kvemo Kartli; Batumi/Adjara
The embassy identifies Hayartun and community associations alongside Armenian schools and churches. These communities include longstanding local populations.