"Hayk's Arrow" Armenian Strategic Center

Iran

Tehran; Isfahan/New Julfa; Tabriz

Choose a country

Population

These figures count different groups and years. They should not be added.

Community estimate

≈150k

Year not stated

Estimates differ

Official figure

—

Comparable official figure not verified

Iran · Community estimate: Community sources

Published population figure: About 150,000; estimates conflict

Population reference period
Year not stated
Source published
March 2026
Latest source check

Armenian Assembly of America factsheet, March 2026

What the figure measures
Direct community estimate in the Armenian Assembly of America’s March 2026 factsheet. This is not a midpoint derived from older embassy claims.
Iran · Official figure: Official sources

Published population figure: Not verified

Population reference period
Year not stated
Source published
Not stated
Latest source check

Comparable reference period not verified

What the figure measures
A comparable host-country official Armenian-origin population figure has not been verified in this review. This does not mean no official data exists.

Data limitation: The Diaspora Office gives 60,000–80,000 without an estimate year. The embassy’s undated text also contains conflicting 200,000 and no-more-than-100,000 claims. No census method or reconciliation was verified. The selected 150,000 is an attributed estimate; it is not an Iranian official count.

Iran: Country sources

Institution sources are listed with their entries.

Main locations
Tehran; Isfahan/New Julfa; Tabriz

The Assembly’s factsheet describes dioceses, Armenian schools and the Ararat Sport and Culture Complex.

Community institutions

Iran: Coverage and source notes

Illustrative institutions in Tehran and New Julfa. Local institutional sites were not consistently retrievable; directory entries do not certify current operation. Catholic and Evangelical institutions are not fully covered.

Directory sources checked:

This is a selected guide, not a complete inventory or a ranking of influence. A direct source documents what an institution publishes about itself; it does not independently verify every claim or establish uninterrupted operation. Directory listings and historical records carry their stated limits. Dates identify the publication, documented activity or report reference period, as described in the entry. Missing source dates are shown explicitly. Inclusion does not imply partnership or endorsement.

Armenian organizations 2

Organizations2

Ararat Armenian Cultural Organization

Tehran

Directory listing

Iran · Ararat Armenian Cultural Organization: About and sources

Sports and cultural body identified in the embassy’s community profile.

Source date not stated

Listing only · current services unverified

Evidence check and limits

The embassy listing was readable. The linked Ararat site displayed a maintenance notice; no dated 2024–2026 activity was verified in this bounded check.

Directory sources checked:

Sources

HUSK — Armenian Questions Research Centre

Tehran

Directory listing

Iran · HUSK — Armenian Questions Research Centre: About and sources

Research centre included in the embassy’s Tehran institutional directory.

Source date not stated

Source available · activity undated

Evidence check and limits

The embassy-linked Hoor/HUSK research site was readable. Its visible event reports include 2023 material; no separately verified 2024–2026 activity date was found in this bounded check.

Directory sources checked:

Sources

Schools and Armenian-language learning 2

Education2

Armen Primary School

New Julfa, Isfahan

Direct source

Iran · Armen Primary School: About and sources

Coeducational primary school in New Julfa, documented in the embassy directory and the Isfahan Prelacy’s own school report.

Source published:

Dated activity evidence ·

The Isfahan Prelacy reports an educational visit by Armen Primary School pupils to All-Saviour Monastery. Activity source

Evidence check and limits

This dated source supports the specific reported activity or announcement. It does not certify continuous operation or current visiting arrangements.

Directory sources checked:

Sources

Kananian–Katarinian Secondary School

New Julfa, Isfahan

Direct source

Iran · Kananian–Katarinian Secondary School: About and sources

The Isfahan Prelacy names Kananian–Katarinian Secondary School in its report on the 2026–2027 school-year opening. The embassy’s undated directory lists Kananian Girls’ School.

Source published:

Dated activity evidence ·

The Prelacy reports the opening of the 2026–2027 school year with pupils and staff of the Kananian–Katarinian secondary school. Activity source

Evidence check and limits

The 2026 report uses the combined Kananian–Katarinian name; the undated embassy directory lists Kananian Girls’ School. No merger date or present gender policy was established.

Directory sources checked:

Sources

Churches and religious institutions 2

Churches2

Armenian Diocese of Tehran

Tehran

Directory listing

Iran · Armenian Diocese of Tehran: About and sources

Armenian Apostolic diocese; the embassy identifies St Sarkis as its cathedral.

Source date not stated

Listing only · current services unverified

Evidence check and limits

The institutional domain returned a registrar contact-verification suspension page over HTTP and failed over HTTPS. The readable embassy/Church directory listings do not establish dated activity.

Directory sources checked:

Sources

Isfahan Armenian Diocese and All-Saviour Monastery

New Julfa, Isfahan

Direct source

Iran · Isfahan Armenian Diocese and All-Saviour Monastery: About and sources

Armenian Apostolic diocesan centre with religious and cultural collections.

Source published:

Dated activity evidence ·

The Prelacy reports a Divine Liturgy for the feast of St Joseph of Arimathea at All-Saviour Monastery. Activity source

Evidence check and limits

This dated source supports the specific reported activity or announcement. It does not certify continuous operation or current visiting arrangements.

Directory sources checked:

Sources

Media and community publications 2

Media2

Alik

Tehran

Direct source

Iran · Alik: About and sources

Armenian newspaper and press institution in Tehran, with its own news site and dated print issues preserved in Armenia’s National Library archive.

Source published:

Dated activity evidence ·

A dated issue of Alik is preserved in Armenia’s National Library newspaper archive, confirming publication on that date. Activity source

Evidence check and limits

This dated source supports the specific reported activity or announcement. It does not certify continuous operation or current visiting arrangements.

Directory sources checked:

Sources

Payman / Peyman

Tehran

Directory listing

Iran · Payman / Peyman: About and sources

Periodical in the embassy’s press directory; current frequency was not verified.

Source date not stated

Source available · activity undated

Evidence check and limits

The publisher’s own site and issue catalogue were readable. No 2024–2026 issue date was independently verified in this check.

Directory sources checked:

Sources

Community issues and evidence gaps

Issues2

Issues are attributed to the cited evidence and retain the source date. Research gaps identify questions that the available evidence does not settle; they are not findings that a service or activity is absent.

Current school reach needs verification

The March 2026 factsheet identifies institutions, but the reviewed material does not establish comparable 2026 enrolment, capacity or school-by-school operating status.

Research gapDate / reference period:

Sources
Iran: Topics for further observation

These are proposed research topics, not findings about the community.

  • Reconcile population definitions and record the method behind new estimates.
  • Document language education, cultural institutions and intergenerational participation.
Iran: How to read the figures

A census count, an ancestry response and a community estimate measure different populations. Dates and definitions remain attached to each figure. The covered-country sum uses selected reference values, range midpoints and stated boundaries for “more than” or “up to”; it is not a synchronized population count or a statistical confidence interval. Undated and historical estimates are not current resident counts. The independently published worldwide estimate must not be added to the country sum.