"Hayk's Arrow" Armenian Strategic Center

New Zealand

Auckland; Wellington

Choose a country

Population

These figures count different groups and years. They should not be added.

Community estimate

≤2k

Year not stated

Attributed estimate

Official census

315

Population period:

Official census: Armenian ethnicity · alone or alongside other groups

New Zealand · Community estimate: Community sources

Published population figure: Up to 2,000

Population reference period
Year not stated
Source published
Not stated
Latest source check

Population reference year not stated

What the figure measures
An upper-bound community estimate attributed by the Diaspora Office to various sources. The page provides no reference year or counting method.
New Zealand · Official census: Official sources

Published population figure: 315

Population reference period
7 March 2023
Source published
Not stated
Latest source check

2023 census, 7 March 2023; detailed profile publication date not stated

What the figure measures
Census usually resident population identifying with Armenian ethnicity, alone or alongside other ethnic groups. Counts use fixed random rounding to protect confidentiality; this is not citizenship.

Data limitation: Up to 2,000 is an undated upper bound, not a measured current total. The 2023 census records 315 Armenian ethnicity responses in its usually resident population. Census and community scope differ; do not add them.

New Zealand: Country sources

Institution sources are listed with their entries.

Main locations
Auckland; Wellington

Auckland and Wellington community sources are presented alongside the separate 2023 census ethnicity figure.

Community institutions

New Zealand: Coverage and source notes

The current availability of Armenian-language classes and independent community media was not verified. The school record describes a closure and reopening plans in 2017. Church-community evidence does not establish a permanent owned building.

Directory sources checked:

This is a selected guide, not a complete inventory or a ranking of influence. A direct source documents what an institution publishes about itself; it does not independently verify every claim or establish uninterrupted operation. Directory listings and historical records carry their stated limits. Dates identify the publication, documented activity or report reference period, as described in the entry. Missing source dates are shown explicitly. Inclusion does not imply partnership or endorsement.

Armenian organizations 2

Organizations2

Armenian Society of New Zealand

Auckland; community connections across New Zealand

Direct source

New Zealand · Armenian Society of New Zealand: About and sources

The society’s own site describes cultural, social and community-connection activities. Its listed event dates do not establish a current schedule; the page is undated.

Source date not stated

Sources

Armenian National Committee of New Zealand

New Zealand; Wellington and Auckland

Direct source

New Zealand · Armenian National Committee of New Zealand: About and sources

The committee’s April 2021 statement, published by its Australian counterpart, documents public advocacy. The dated source does not establish current leadership or uninterrupted activity.

Date / reference period:

Sources

Schools and Armenian-language learning 1

Education1

Auckland Armenian Sunday school — historical record

Auckland

Historical record

New Zealand · Auckland Armenian Sunday school — historical record: About and sources

In a November 2017 interview the society’s head said the school had closed and reopening was being sought. This is historical evidence of supplementary schooling; a reopening or current provision was not verified.

Date / reference period:

Sources

Churches and religious institutions 1

Churches1

St. Gregory the Illuminator Armenian Church community

Auckland

Direct source

New Zealand · St. Gregory the Illuminator Armenian Church community: About and sources

The diocese’s August 2025 newsletter reports a grape blessing and parish-council election in Auckland on 17 August. It documents a church community, not ownership of a permanent church building.

Date / reference period:

Dated activity evidence ·

The diocesan newsletter reports a blessing and council election. Activity source

Evidence check and limits

The source is an August 2025 issue, not a 2026 programme.

Directory sources checked:

Sources

Media and community publications 1

Media1

Armenian Society of New Zealand — community news

New Zealand; online

Direct source

New Zealand · Armenian Society of New Zealand — community news: About and sources

The society publishes its own community news and event reports. This is institutional communication; the undated archive does not establish an independent newspaper or current publication frequency.

Source date not stated

Sources
New Zealand: Topics for further observation

These are proposed research topics, not findings about the community.

  • Verify dated population evidence and the current reach of community institutions.
New Zealand: How to read the figures

A census count, an ancestry response and a community estimate measure different populations. Dates and definitions remain attached to each figure. The covered-country sum uses selected reference values, range midpoints and stated boundaries for “more than” or “up to”; it is not a synchronized population count or a statistical confidence interval. Undated and historical estimates are not current resident counts. The independently published worldwide estimate must not be added to the country sum.