"Hayk's Arrow" Armenian Strategic Center

Equipment & procurement

Follows weapons and equipment from announcements and contracts to reported deliveries and public display. Identifies suppliers, systems, quantities where disclosed and the evidence supporting each stage, without treating an order as a completed delivery.

Last updated
Annual datasets 1
Italian export authorisations 2014–2019
Coverage and method

Italian supplier-side defence-export licence values for Turkmenistan, by calendar year, from the original government report to Parliament. These authorisations are not completed deliveries, paid invoices, individual platform contract prices or Turkmen defence spending. Converted from EUR at the matching annual-average ECB USD/EUR rate. The 2014 and 2015 comparison-table source values are rounded to EUR0.1million; 2016, 2017 and 2019 retain the detailed country-table values. A missing 2018 observation is not zero.

Supplier authorisations, not deliveries or Turkmen expenditure. Matching-year average currency rates; 2014–15 source values are rounded. No 2018 zero is inferred.

USD · current prices
YearValueStatus and source
2019$499.36 MnReported · Italian Government report to Parliament · 2019 report · PDF p.35 · authorisations · p. 35
Notes and conversion

This is the supplier’s calendar-year authorisation value, not deliveries, paid invoices, a platform contract price or Turkmen defence expenditure. The report does not allocate the country total to individual aircraft or vessels. The detailed country table supplies the euro value and licence count.

Original-source amount: 446.0685 EUR million · Annual average: 1.119475 USD / EUR

ECB · EXR.A.USD.EUR.SP00.A · 2019 annual average USD per EUR
2017$2.45 MnReported · Italian Government report to Parliament · 2019 report · PDF p.35 · authorisations · p. 35
Notes and conversion

This is the supplier’s calendar-year authorisation value, not deliveries, paid invoices, a platform contract price or Turkmen defence expenditure. The report does not allocate the country total to individual aircraft or vessels. The detailed country table supplies the euro value and licence count.

Original-source amount: 2.173 EUR million · Annual average: 1.129681 USD / EUR

ECB · EXR.A.USD.EUR.SP00.A · 2017 annual average USD per EUR
2016$42.71 MnReported · Italian Government report to Parliament · 2019 report · PDF p.35 · authorisations · p. 35
Notes and conversion

This is the supplier’s calendar-year authorisation value, not deliveries, paid invoices, a platform contract price or Turkmen defence expenditure. The report does not allocate the country total to individual aircraft or vessels. The detailed country table supplies the euro value and licence count.

Original-source amount: 38.5917 EUR million · Annual average: 1.106903 USD / EUR

ECB · EXR.A.USD.EUR.SP00.A · 2016 annual average USD per EUR
2015$6.43 MnReported · Italian Government report to Parliament · 2019 report · PDF p.25 · authorisations · p. 25
Notes and conversion

This is the supplier’s calendar-year authorisation value, not deliveries, paid invoices, a platform contract price or Turkmen defence expenditure. The report does not allocate the country total to individual aircraft or vessels. The historical comparison rounds this value to 0.1 million euros.

Original-source amount: 5.8 EUR million · Annual average: 1.109513 USD / EUR

ECB · EXR.A.USD.EUR.SP00.A · 2015 annual average USD per EUR
2014$73.46 MnReported · Italian Government report to Parliament · 2019 report · PDF p.25 · authorisations · p. 25
Notes and conversion

This is the supplier’s calendar-year authorisation value, not deliveries, paid invoices, a platform contract price or Turkmen defence expenditure. The report does not allocate the country total to individual aircraft or vessels. The historical comparison rounds this value to 0.1 million euros.

Original-source amount: 55.3 EUR million · Annual average: 1.328501 USD / EUR

ECB · EXR.A.USD.EUR.SP00.A · 2014 annual average USD per EUR
Filters

Showing 20 of 48 records

FK2000 air-defence system displayed

Publicly displayedOfficial report

State coverage of the independence parade identified the FK2000 air-defence system on a KDP2000 vehicle.

Details and sources

This records the public display. The report does not establish fleet quantity, procurement value or independently tested performance. It is separate from the unmanned boats shown at the same parade.

Point Blank and ThunderB-VTOL displayed

Publicly displayedOfficial report

The state parade report names Point Blank systems for the National Army and ThunderB-VTOL systems for the Navy.

Details and sources

The article calls both recently received and ThunderB-VTOL a first-time parade participant. It gives no delivery day, batch quantity, contract or price. This record establishes a dated official display and an attributed receipt claim, not independently verified performance.

Unmanned surface vessels displayed

Publicly displayedOfficial report

State parade coverage identified KATA:NA surface vessels and a mobile control post for KATA:NA PLUS.

Details and sources

This entry records public display on 27 September. No procurement price, order quantity, delivery date or independently confirmed operational deployment is established by the parade report.

Military aircraft displayed at parade

Publicly displayedOfficial report

The official parade account identified Mi-17V-5 helicopters, C-27J Spartan transports and Su-25 aircraft in the flypast.

Details and sources

Public display supports identification of these aircraft types. The report does not establish a complete inventory, new delivery dates, aircraft availability rates or contract values.

Calendar reporting year; individual transfer dates are not stated

Italy declares arms exports

ReportedOfficial report

Italy declared exports to Turkmenistan in 2025: 70 rifles and carbines.

Details and sources

The return identifies annual exports to Turkmenistan, not current holdings. It does not identify the receiving agency, serviceable quantities, a contract price or individual delivery dates. Categories and models follow the declaration; none are inferred.

UAV systems shown at independence parade

Publicly displayedOfficial report

State coverage identified Bayraktar TB2, Falco, SkyStriker, Orbiter 2B and CW-15D systems in the military parade.

Details and sources

A parade documents public display. It does not establish acquisition dates, serviceable fleet totals, individual systems’ availability or a new delivery in September 2023. Model names follow the official report.

Denizhan inspected during naval visit

Publicly displayedOfficial report

President Serdar Berdimuhamedov inspected the Denizhan corvette and attended a flag-raising ceremony at a naval unit.

Details and sources

The report says the vessel was built with domestic specialists and its crew trained abroad. This is a later inspection of the vessel already presented in 2021, not a second vessel delivery. Supplier delivery chronology is not independently resolved.

Five A-29 aircraft shown at parade

Publicly displayedOfficial report

The official parade account explicitly counts five A-29 Super Tucano aircraft in the air display.

Details and sources

Five is the reported display count, not an independently audited fleet total. The source does not give an order price or precise delivery dates. Brazil’s UNROCA rows for 2020 and 2021 remain separately classified as unnamed annual combat-aircraft exports; they are not added to this display count.

Six M-346 aircraft shown at parade

Publicly displayedOfficial report

The state parade report explicitly identified six M-346 aircraft in the air display.

Details and sources

Six is the number reported displayed, not a verified total fleet. The report does not disclose contract price or a definitive delivery schedule.

Calendar reporting year; individual transfer dates are not stated

Brazil declares three combat-aircraft exports

ReportedOfficial report

Brazil declared exports to Turkmenistan in 2021: 3 combat aircraft.

Details and sources

The model is not stated. The three declared exports are reported separately from the five A-29 aircraft displayed in September 2021; the records may concern the same airframes and are not added together. The return identifies annual exports to Turkmenistan, not current holdings. It does not identify the receiving agency, serviceable quantities, a contract price or individual delivery dates. Categories and models follow the declaration; none are inferred.

Calendar reporting year; individual transfer dates are not stated

Russia declares one armoured-vehicle export

ReportedOfficial report

Russia declared exports to Turkmenistan in 2021: one armoured combat vehicle.

Details and sources

The return identifies annual exports to Turkmenistan, not current holdings. It does not identify the receiving agency, serviceable quantities, a contract price or individual delivery dates. Categories and models follow the declaration; none are inferred.

Calendar reporting year; individual transfer dates are not stated

Serbia declares two armoured-vehicle exports

ReportedOfficial report

Serbia declared exports to Turkmenistan in 2021: 2 armoured combat vehicles.

Details and sources

Cyprus is listed as an intermediate location; the vehicle model is not stated. No Lazar or other model is inferred. The return identifies annual exports to Turkmenistan, not current holdings. It does not identify the receiving agency, serviceable quantities, a contract price or individual delivery dates. Categories and models follow the declaration; none are inferred.

Calendar reporting year; individual transfer dates are not stated

United States declares arms exports

ReportedOfficial report

The United States declared exports to Turkmenistan in 2021: 2 heavy machine guns.

Details and sources

The return identifies annual exports to Turkmenistan, not current holdings. It does not identify the receiving agency, serviceable quantities, a contract price or individual delivery dates. Categories and models follow the declaration; none are inferred.

Calendar reporting year; individual transfer dates are not stated

Brazil declares two combat-aircraft exports

ReportedOfficial report

Brazil declared exports to Turkmenistan in 2020: 2 combat aircraft.

Details and sources

The model is not stated. The two aircraft are not automatically identified as A-29s from a later parade, nor combined with that display as additional airframes. The return identifies annual exports to Turkmenistan, not current holdings. It does not identify the receiving agency, serviceable quantities, a contract price or individual delivery dates. Categories and models follow the declaration; none are inferred.

Calendar reporting year; individual transfer dates are not stated

Italy declares aircraft, missiles and small arms

ReportedOfficial report

Italy declared two combat aircraft, 20 missile-category items and separate small-arms and mortar exports to Turkmenistan in 2020.

Details and sources

The two combat aircraft and 20 missile-category items are unnamed. Separate rows cover 275 pistols, 30 rifles, 250 sub-machine guns, 700 assault rifles and 210 mortars below 75 mm. No M-346, C-27J or missile-model attribution is inferred. The return identifies annual exports to Turkmenistan, not current holdings. It does not identify the receiving agency, serviceable quantities, a contract price or individual delivery dates. Categories and models follow the declaration; none are inferred.

Calendar year of authorisations; individual licence days are not stated

Italy authorises defence exports

ApprovedOfficial report

Italy reported export authorisations to Turkmenistan equivalent to $499.36 Mn for 2019.

Details and sources

This is the supplier’s calendar-year authorisation value, not deliveries, paid invoices, a platform contract price or Turkmen defence expenditure. The report does not allocate the country total to individual aircraft or vessels. The detailed country table supplies the euro value and licence count.

Original-source amount: Italy reported export authorisations to Turkmenistan equivalent to 446.069 EUR million for 2019.

US$499.4 million. Original-source amount: 446.1 EUR million. Annual average (2019-01-01–2019-12-31): 1.119475 USD / EUR. ECB annual period-average reference exchange rate, quoted as U.S. dollars per euro. Conversion multiplies the source-currency amount by the raw API annual rate; no rounded display rate or current exchange rate is used.

Retrospectively reported year; month and day are not established

Dearsan reports completion of vessel programme

Completion reportedOfficial report

Dearsan says delivery of its earlier Turkmen programme was completed in 2018: ten patrol vessels, six fast attack boats, ten intervention boats, one landing craft and one research vessel.

Details and sources

These are cumulative programme quantities reported by the supplier, not 28 vessels newly delivered during 2018 or a present inventory. The later 92-metre corvette is separate; its supplier delivery chronology is not resolved by this earlier programme.

Calendar reporting year; individual transfer dates are not stated

Bulgaria declares arms exports

ReportedOfficial report

Bulgaria declared exports to Turkmenistan in 2018: 12 light machine guns.

Details and sources

The return identifies annual exports to Turkmenistan, not current holdings. It does not identify the receiving agency, serviceable quantities, a contract price or individual delivery dates. Categories and models follow the declaration; none are inferred.

Calendar year of authorisations; individual licence days are not stated

Italy authorises defence exports

ApprovedOfficial report

Italy reported export authorisations to Turkmenistan equivalent to $2.45 Mn for 2017.

Details and sources

This is the supplier’s calendar-year authorisation value, not deliveries, paid invoices, a platform contract price or Turkmen defence expenditure. The report does not allocate the country total to individual aircraft or vessels. The detailed country table supplies the euro value and licence count.

Original-source amount: Italy reported export authorisations to Turkmenistan equivalent to 2.173 EUR million for 2017.

US$2.5 million. Original-source amount: 2.2 EUR million. Annual average (2017-01-01–2017-12-31): 1.129681 USD / EUR. ECB annual period-average reference exchange rate, quoted as U.S. dollars per euro. Conversion multiplies the source-currency amount by the raw API annual rate; no rounded display rate or current exchange rate is used.

Calendar reporting year; individual transfer dates are not stated

Belarus declares four BM-21 exports

ReportedOfficial report

Belarus declared exports to Turkmenistan in 2017: 4 large-calibre artillery systems.

Details and sources

The exporter identifies the four systems as 122 mm BM-21 MLRS and the Russian Federation as the state of origin. This is not proof of Belarusian domestic production. The return identifies annual exports to Turkmenistan, not current holdings. It does not identify the receiving agency, serviceable quantities, a contract price or individual delivery dates. Categories and models follow the declaration; none are inferred.

Scope

Source review through 1 November 2026. Personnel estimates cover 1992–2020; SIPRI’s adopted-budget figures stop in 1999 and change scope with public-account classifications. No current defence-only budget is inferred from whole-state totals. US fiscal-year programmes, supplier export authorisations, declared transfers and public displays remain separate measures. Local shipyard work does not establish wholly domestic production.

Method & coverage

This is a curated public-source reference, not a complete inventory. Each record identifies an event or publication date, implementation stage and evidence type; the detail explains which date is known. An official report establishes what the issuer said; a contract does not establish delivery, and delivery does not establish readiness. Unknown quantities remain unknown. Records count publications or developments, not weapons, personnel or military strength.

Official report
The issuing institution reports the event or figure; this is not independent corroboration.
Independently corroborated
Distinct independent evidence supports the specific recorded claim.
Estimate
A sourced estimate, with its method and limits retained.
Unresolved
The available evidence does not establish the specific point.

SIPRI · Annual spending · SIPRI · Equipment & procurement

← Back to country overview